My plans for Thankfully Reading Weekend 2010

This weekend as I mentioned yesterday, I hope to close the gap between books read this year and movies watched this year as I participate in Thankfully Reading Weekend 2010 this Friday through Sunday started by Jenn from Jenn’s Bookshelves (see previous link), Candace from Beth Fish Reads and Jen from Devourer of Books last year and continuing this year. My wife is working at her new job as a 9-1-1 dispatcher all weekend, including Thanksgiving (but don’t cry, she gets double-time) and I’m heading to my parents in the next county over. As they don’t have Internet access now (waiting for a better price for DSL), I will have plenty of opportunity to read (as long as I don’t caught up in an NCIS or Law and Order marathon).

So I’ve narrowed my list to a dozen choices, even though I probably won’t get to all of them:

Mostly as you can see, I’ve stuck to the mystery genre with a few exceptions, especially the last one which just veers off into the nonsensical.

Since I’ll be without Internet access over the weekend, I’ll report in on Sunday for this week’s Sunday Salon on how I did. I’ll be surprised if I get to more than one and don’t caught up in one of those marathons. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I’ll leave you with a little about that last book from a video Stewart did for Amazon:

10 responses to “My plans for Thankfully Reading Weekend 2010

  1. Pingback: Pushing forward to December, back to November | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. Pingback: Thankfully Reading Weekend wrap-up post (TSS) | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  3. I missed that video — too funny. He spoke at BEA last May and I thought he was just terrific. I haven’t yet read or listened to Earth.

    • That would have been cool to have seen him.

      I actually haven’t gotten to this one yet, but hope to do so here in the near future. I don’t want to hold onto it too long (even though I could since I work at the library) as I’m sure others are wanting to read it too.

  4. What great choices you have. I didn’t sign up b/c I totally forgot but I do plan on reading a lot this weekend. Good luck and enjoy!

  5. Happy reading! I totally forgot about all the marathons going on! Hmm. . . Happy Thanksgiving!

  6. Good luck with your books. I’ve read some of the Alexander McCall Smith books. Good stuff.

    I love the turkey reading badge.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    • I enjoy the Alexander McCall Smith books, but I don’t know if they are the best series I’ve ever read. Good, though, even if not great.

      As for the badge, I’m not sure who made it, but it is pretty cool, isn’t it?