I Still Believe

For the last two days I’ve shared for what I’m thankful physically this year and for what I’m thankful mentally this year. Today I’m going to share for what I’m thankful spiritually.

I’m not going to lie, for the last few months I’ve been in a spiritual funk. Confession time: It’s been several months since I’ve been to Mass. It all started when I was volunteering overnights Saturday nights into Sunday mornings. The Saturday before, I’d take a nap before going into the hospice and then on Sunday morning, I’d be catching up on sleep. Now that my wife is working 4 p.m. to midnight many Saturday nights, it gives me another excuse not to go to Mass.

So with all in mind, for what can I be thankful spiritually? If anything, I guess it’s this:

So how about you? For what are you thankfully spiritually this year?

2 responses to “I Still Believe

  1. I am not religious. Still, I feel that spiritually I have really grown in the last five years. Five years ago, I lost my little cocker spaniel and my mother within one month’s time of each other. My dog’s death depressed me so badly that I went on medication for my depression. The only thing that got me out of bed was getting a new dog; a 5 year old female german shepherd / pit bull mix who we named Honey. Honey and I had a special bond almost immediately. She had a “calming” influence because of her manner. She was scary looking and had a presence that was remarkable. Honey had what looks like a stroke today. We opted to bring her home rather than subject her to a night in the hospital. If she’s not better or showing signs of improving, we will have to put her down this weekend. I hate to lose her because I love her so much. We tried to keep my little cocker alive with some heroic measures. I will not do that with 11 year old Honey. I’ve grown up and learned that death is not something to be afraid of. Sometimes it’s the best alternative. I want my dear old girl to have peace.

  2. I think it’s a great idea to write posts like this one. I think spiritually I’m thankfully for my philosophy of religion class that pushes me mentally and spiritually.