The Honky Dancing Convention

Today my wife and I celebrate our 14th wedding anniversary. In honor of that, I present this post from last year again about our wedding reception.

It commenced on the afternoon of Nov. 23, 1996 at the Salem County Sportsmen’s Club [1] in Deepwater, N.J. It wasn’t planned as a convention per se, but that is what the wedding reception for The Rambler and The Wife became that day.

Wedding (Kim and me 1)Herself and Himself entered to the song Get Ready for This by 2 Unlimited that later became famous in the movie Bring It On. It also might better be known as The Spirit Fingers song (exhibited here by a high school student a couple of years ago in true white boy fashion).

The picture at right wasn’t taken when we entered, but later when we were in full honky [2] mode. I think I was getting ready to snap my fingers and The Wife…well, I’d best leave that one alone.

Needless to say, it went all downhill from there.

Wedding (Chris and me)

The man on the far left [3] “got the party started” when he tossed his coat aside reminiscent of Tony Manero. That was the signal for all the white people in the room to get on the floor and dance or do some semblance thereof. Of course, being that some of the folks in the room were septuagenarian didn’t mean they got out there too quickly or did the Humpty or anything.

No honky dancing convention is complete without The Train:

Wedding (train)

Or The Macarena:

Wedding (macarena group)

Wedding (macarena) That was the last straw for this honky. I think I just went to the bar and nursed a Captain and Coke (okay, two or three) the rest of the afternoon after this.

Can you blame me?

[1] Despite the note on the front page that “The Bar is looking fo a couple of experienced bar tenders.”, this place was as honky as they come. Did you not see the giant fish in the pictures and the flagpoles in the background? Only thing missing: a framed photo of Lee Greenwood.

[2] I have to give credit where credit is due. I couldn’t have thought up the name of this post if it hadn’t been for this post at Nanny Goats in Panties bringing the term to mind recently.

[3] It would be one of the lasting memories of our dear friend, Chris, who died of throat cancer less than three years after this photo was taken.

13 responses to “The Honky Dancing Convention

  1. Full Honky Mode. I have to remember that – I want to live my entire life in FULL HONKY MODE!

  2. This honestly looks like a totally fun wedding reception! Happy 14th Rambler and Mrs. Rambler!

  3. You guys looked like you were having a great time!

    Happy Anniversary!

  4. I think you guys look whiter than your blushing bride’s wedding gown, Rambler! But you had fun, and it’s lasted 14 years. Here’s to 14 more!

  5. No polkas?! What’s a wedding without some guy galloping you around the room like some crazed Polish cowboy???

    Pearl

    • unfinishedrambler

      Now polkas we might have allowed, but we were more into disco and funk at that point for dancing…well, still are, for that matter.

  6. Happy anniversary, you crazy dancing kids!

  7. What? No chicken dance???

    Congratulations on 14 years of wedded bliss! Woo hoo!

    • unfinishedrambler

      NOOOOOO. We actually BANNED the chicken dance from our wedding. We told our DJ if he played it that he wouldn’t be paid. Amazingly, he didn’t play it. πŸ˜‰

  8. Happy Anniversary!

  9. What I like about these pics in particular is that you guys may not be candidates for the next Dancing with the Stars, but you are SO into it. You’re working your moves, you’re feeling the Captain and Coke… You’re hip and happenin’…

    If, y’know, it’s still possible to BE hip and happenin’ without making teens roll their eyes.

    Which, of course, you can’t. But still… πŸ™‚

    Boogie on, my friend!