Thankfully reading — and watching movies

So continuing from yesterday where I counted my blessings through the prism of the physical life, mainly that I was glad to be alive, I now will count my blessings through the prism of the mental life. Yep, you guessed it, I’m glad I have a mind, especially considering that I had a late great-aunt who lost hers in her teens and never regained it. But seriously, even though that part about my late great-aunt is true, that for which I am thankful mentally is that I have a mind I can use to read books and watch movies, to distract myself from the yawning abyss.

So far this year, I’ve read 60 books and watched 64 movies. Right now I’m reading The Big Sleep by Raymond Chandler and next up on the movie front is Blood Diamond, which I’ve taken out of the library several times but never watched. Usually those are the best…for example, I remember taking this movie out several times and then finally getting to see it:

Out of the 60 books I’ve read this year, probably the one for which I’m most thankful to have read is Cutting For Stone by Abraham Verghese. Click through the link to read my review and see why. Meanwhile, out of the 64 movies I’ve seen so far this year, probably the one for which I’m most thankful to have watched is…argh, just one? really? ah, why did I do this to myself, okay, I’ll bite the bullet and say…

I don’t know about you, but Randy Newman gets me every time. Actually, it’s the perfect ending to a beloved animated series. I wouldn’t change a thing about it despite those three reviewers who gave it a rotten review on Rotten Tomatoes.

This weekend I hope to close the gap between books read and movies watched as I participate in Thankfully Reading 2010 this Friday through Sunday started by Jenn from Jenn’s Bookshelves (see previous link), Candace from Beth Fish Reads and Jen from Devourer of Books. My wife is working at her new job as a 9-1-1 dispatcher all weekend and I’m heading to my parents. I don’t have the books picked out yet, but I’m sure among them will be a few Charlie Chan mysteries by Earl Derr Biggers and a few No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency books from Alexander McCall Smith. Beyond that, I have no idea.

So for what are you thankful mentally this year, including, but not limited to, books and movies?

3 responses to “Thankfully reading — and watching movies

  1. Pingback: I Still Believe | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. I’m so glad to hear you’ll be joining in on the reading fun!

    • I look forward to it, although I probably won’t be able to check in until Sunday since my parents are without Internet this weekend. They’re waiting for a good deal to get DSL. Might not be until Christmas. 😦