Dolla dolla bill y’all

"$!" in Old Script font.

Image via Wikipedia

You know how some people go around seeing others as dollar signs? Well, after this afternoon, I now can say I see people as how much they owe in overdue fines.

After work this afternoon, I was walking to a restaurant when I passed a high school student on the street who I know owes about $30 in fines. I saw him, but he pretended not to see me as he started texting on his cellphone:

Im prtndng not 2 C dbag frm libary lol

That’s all right, punk. C U in jail, lol that biotch.

Then while I was at the restaurant who should sit at the table next to me but this woman who owes about the same amount, if not more by this time, in fines. She briefly made eye contact but then quickly broke away as she realized who I was. However, it’s not as if her boyfriend or husband, the dude who was with her, doesn’t know about her fines, because the last time he returned books for her, I reminded him that she had other books that were long overdue.

Somehow I resisted the temptation to whisper over to her:

So, Ms. X, have you returned those books that were overdue yet and paid your fines? This is your conscience speaking.

However, I think her conscience probably already was pricked enough just by my presence. Speaking would have been pushing it– just a little.

So has your job ever tainted the way you’ve seen someone in public? If so, how? Did you say anything or did you, like me, let it slide?


11 responses to “Dolla dolla bill y’all

  1. Now my family thinks I’m nuts since I’m sitting in front of my computer laughing my ass off. I’ve never had a job that tainted the way I see people in public but now I want one!

  2. Pingback: Trying to fall into The Big Sleep while not falling into it, if you know what I mean (TSS) | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  3. When I sang in the women’s chorus I used to look out over the audience and say, “Difficulty breathing, fall with possible hip fracture, diabetic emergency…” because so many of the people had been ambulance passengers at one time or another. Now there’s another whole dimension to this, since I can point at people and say DUI, expired registration, divorce with police intervention over separation of property…my job + how small our town is = knowing more than you want to about LOTS of people.

  4. Rambler, you have a new true fan. I’ve always been very careful to avoid the Library Police. In fact, I have an app on my iPhone to do just that. It’s like a radar thingie. I love libraries but hate returning books until I feel like it and that is usually after I owe more than the books cost in the first place. So now I just buy them from Barnes and Noble. It’s better (and cheaper) this way, believe me.

    • unfinishedrambler

      Oh, what I was referring to was a site called One True Fan. According to that, Jaffer is my One True Fan. πŸ™‚

      While I applaud your efforts to stay away from the library police by going to a bookstore, I would encourage you to find an independent bookstore instead of one of the giants who really don’t need your money. Again :).

      We have a lot of patrons who are just like you. We call them “deadbeats.” πŸ˜‰

  5. For once, I am glad I live in a big city.

    • Just a head’s up on the “* Like” button you have. I can’t seem to click on the ‘Log In’ button. It’s seems disabled or perhaps there is a Javascript error.

      • unfinishedrambler

        Thanks, my One True Fan. I don’t know what I’d do without you. I’ll test it when I’m not logged in. If there is a problem, I’ll bring it to the attention of WordPress.com as I don’t have custom CSS/HTML etc.

      • Here’s the deal-io. It’s only for WordPress.com users. Maybe I’ll just take that off since it’s really not useful for those who aren’t on WordPress.com and also so you don’t get confused. πŸ˜‰

        • I logged into WordPress.com from the homepage so that worked.
          They should have other options or have anon voting eh.

          • unfinishedrambler

            You’ll have to take that up with WordPress.com. πŸ˜‰

            In the meantime, I’ll go see if I can have that taken off the posts, which I think I can.