Out with the old, in with the old?

Last year or the year before (I’m not sure which, when you hit middle age, the years begin to run together), we got rid of “my car,” well, the car that mostly I drove: a 1996 Nissan Maxima sedan. At the end of September, we got rid of The Wife’s car, the car that she mostly drove: a 1995 Saturn Piece of Crapola.

Hers is (was) the one in the foreground.

If you click on the hyperlink about her car, you’ll see the sentimental post she wrote about it. You’ll get no such sentimentality from me as you can tell by what model I thought it was. The car had zero power and sucked getting up hills. No, I mean, it literally sucked getting up hills. When it went up a hill, it was trying to suck you back into the valley.Β  Enough said about that car.

At the beginning of October, my parents, who had just bought a 2007 Nissan Altima sedan, gifted us their old car, a 2000 Mercury Sable station wagon:

Photo courtesy of my sister

Shortly after they gave us the car, and we had all the paperwork done for it, I saw this article on Yahoo News about four well-known car brand names that have gone kaput. Among them, you guessed it, were both Mercury and Saturn. So basically, we traded one discontinued car for another discontinued car. The other two car brand names to go this year are Hummer and Pontiac.

The main thing I like about the “new car” is that it was

Free place to sleep

Image by Brad Stabler via Flickr

What I don’t like about the car, mainly that it’s beige, pales in comparison.

That’s all right, though, eventually, according to this guy (who naturally is beige), everybody’s going to be beige:

So I guess we’re just getting used to the color change that’s already on its way.

15 responses to “Out with the old, in with the old?

  1. Rambler! How could you not know Mexicans love Chevy’s? The only thing I can guess is that you don’t know any Mexicans (besides me, that is.) I think Mom was in her late 70’s when she got her Saturn. I like more powerful cars too. Even if I’m older than you, I need some giddyup!

  2. I like all cars as long as they are black. I (being a Mexican woman) am partial to Chevy’s. My husband likes all cars as long as they are black and BMW’s. He has 3 of them at present and wants to add a 4th. If he does that, I’m divorcing him.

    My mom had a Saturn and it was a good car. Her car was dark green though. Other than that it was a nice car. Not much power, but she drove slow anyway.

    • unfinishedrambler

      I’m only in my 40s so I need a car with a little more power than that. πŸ™‚

      I didn’t know Mexicans were partial to Chevy’s. Hmmm. You learn something new every day.

  3. Hey look ! That Indian-Canadian guy raided your blog !
    No not me ! Hahaha…. Well, you can now say Russell Peters is now Indian-Canadian-American.

    Anyway,

    I agree with Ted. My dad still drives a 1981 Toyota Cressida which he has driven since … umm … 1987.
    He still has no problems maintaing it because the Camry was based on it and eventually became it’s successor in 1993.

    • unfinishedrambler

      I didn’t know he was Canadian too. Bonus.

      Toyotas are good cars. When my parents were looking at getting another car, they considered a Toyota, but even used, they were too much. But I imagine they’re worth it.

  4. Oh yeah, beige is better than my car, which is no car. Not in the Japanese drama sense, but actually no car. At all. I am a bus rider. And they are all the same color.

  5. I had to fill in so many fields before I could comment I’ve forgotten what I was going to say.

    • unfinishedrambler

      The thing is you only should have to fill it in once and then it should come up automatically next time. Well, at least, in theory…

  6. “What I don’t like about the car, mainly that it’s beige, pales in comparison.”

    Clever line, my literary friend.

    I remember seeing that Saturn on your wife’s blog, and I hope your dislike of it isn’t a source of serious discord in your otherwise happy family.

    Enjoy that new Mercury. At least it’s got lots of room in back for groceries and spare parts, which you’ll probably need a lot of as it ages. πŸ˜‰

    • unfinishedrambler

      No, no serious discord. In the car’s defense, it did protect The Wife in an accident and really that’s all for which you can ask.

  7. My car is silver which I didn’t like, until I realized it’s the exact shade of road salt. So it was a total win!

    • unfinishedrambler

      Oh, yeah, that rocks! Similar to why I don’t get white sneakers anymore…what’s the point? Will be dirty after walking around town (in Pennsylvania) anyway.

  8. Discontinued, schmiscontinued. Mercury vehicles share everything except the blue oval with their corresponding Ford cousins (in your case, a Taurus). So you don’t need to worry about parts or service for your “discontinued” car.

    What you shouldn’t like about the car was that they were initially offered with one of the worst transmissions ever to be inflicted upon the automotive world. What you should like is that most of the design flaws were corrected by around 1996 or so. Emphasis on MOST. πŸ˜‰

    Check with Mom and Dad to see if they’ve had the transmission fluid changed regularly. It’s recommended at 30,000-mile intervals.

    There’s not much you can do about it being a Ford. Or a Ford’s cousin. πŸ™‚

    • unfinishedrambler

      Thanks for the advice, Ted. I think they had all the fluids changed before they gave us the car, but I’ll double-check. I’m not thrilled with having a Ford either, but hey, it’s free!!!! πŸ™‚