It’s 106 miles to Chicago…

What is with me and movie quotes? I can’t remember them for the life of me.

My wife can spew them ad nauseam.

However, one quote has been a particular thorn in my side: “I am Maximus Decimus Meridius…”

I even once put that particular quote on a loop on the DVD player for almost half an hour as I tried to memorize it. To my chagrin, it still hasn’t stuck in the grooves of my brain.

So are you like my wife in that you can remember movie quotes? Or are you like me in that they just don’t stick no matter how hard you try? What are some of your favorite quotes? Include links if you want.

Follow more of my ramblings WordPress Facebook Twitter StumbleUpon

 

6 responses to “It’s 106 miles to Chicago…

  1. Since I have to see something 12,000 times in order to remember it and I never watch a movie more than once, I think that answers your question. Now, Seinfeld? I can pretty much quote anything from Seinfeld. And Steve Martin’s comedy albums. Because of the 12,000 requirement.

    • unfinishedrambler

      Whoa. You’ve listened to his comedy albums 12,000 times? And you probably have them on vinyl? Whoa. 🙂

  2. Damn you … I got sucked into Gladiator and even stumbled upon the Hindi version https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dS1AxcItCbE
    Not bad I must admit.

    • I just found an oscar winning quote this morning:

      “Frog, you know… life… life not all guessing games, Frog. Sometimes, we have to care about friends especially for fiends who love cookies – friends who love cookies so much they play silly … guessing games because maybe … maybe just maybe a frog … a very handsome frog who has cookie will give best-best friend who no can live without cookies … give that best friend a cookie. But, if friendship mean nothing… ”

  3. I have to confess, though, that sometimes the quotes get crossed up. Because every time you say “I am Maximus Decimus Meridius” I don’t think “son of a murdered father”, I think
    “You keeled my father, prepare to die.”

  4. Basically, I’m awful at movie quotes.

    “You’re a little short for a Storm Trooper”.

    “These aren’t the Droids you’re looking for”.

    “Hasta La Vista, Baby”.

    “Take this job and shove it”.

    Oh, wait. That last one was from you at work last week, wasn’t it.?