The best books I’ve read and movies I’ve watched this year thus far

Right now it’s neck and neck between the number of books I’ve read this year, 53, with the number of movies I’ve watched this year, 55. It looks like I’ll easily surpass last year’s numbers of 54 for books and 53 for movies. To see a list of the books I’ve read and movies I’ve watched, click here (with a link to my listography list of movies watched this year at the bottom of that page and trailers for all the movies on the listography list).

To learn how to order the book from Bancroft Book, click on the cover.

Among the best books I’ve read within the last few months have been Purple Jesus by Ron Cooper, which I reviewed last week and also coincidentally was released last week, Godric by Frederick Buechner and The Girl Who Played With Fire by Stieg Larsson.

Far and away, though, my favorite book  of this year (so far) was Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese. Also extremely good was Memory by Donald E. Westlake, a novel from the 1960s that previously had been rejected by publishers but thankfully was published this year.

As for movies, from back in March, since the American version recently was released, I have to mention the original Swedish version, Let The Right One In:

(Note: Just playing the trailer now, with its creepy music, made my cat, who is sitting on my arm as I type this, jump up.)

Forget all other vampire movies. This one sets the bar high for all other vampire movies, period.

From September, I also have to mention this one:

because, well, it just rocks, period.

And last, but not least, I’ll throw in this one, which The Wife and I just watched the other night:

Fun for the whole family? You betcha. Plus some kick-ass graphics, to boot.

5 responses to “The best books I’ve read and movies I’ve watched this year thus far

  1. I highly recommend Fall of Giants, by Ken Follett if you enjoy historical novels. Like his previous trilogy, this one takes place in the early 20th Century and focuses on several families during WWI. Historically accurate, the book gives a different feel for that time period.

    The reader learns much about the period through the eyes of fictional characters living through events in Russia, the UK, Europe and the U.S. Excellent read, but be prepared, because like the rest of Follett’s books, it’s quite long.

    • I still have Pillars of the Earth and its sequel, whose name I can’t remember right now, on my to-be-read list. So it might be a while before I get to that one, but thanks for the recommendation. I’ll keep it in mind…for next year. 🙂

      • “World Without End” ? I think that is in sequence with the Pillars of the Earth.
        It came out just before “Fall of Giants”

  2. I agree that the Graphics ‘are’ kick ass in “How to train a Dragon”.
    But did I hear a Viking with an Australian accent ?
    I’ll put this movie on my borrow list.

    • Nope, the Viking has a Scottish accent…it’s Craig Ferguson and it’s still awesome. Borrow it if you must, it’s still a good one to watch. We didn’t buy it. We rented it from Netflix. 🙂