Cleaning my gun and dreaming of Galveston

For some reason, I’ve had the above song going through my head for the last couple of weeks. Weird thing is when I mentioned this to my wife, she said she also has had a Glen Campbell song going through her head for the last couple of weeks:

That first song, in turn, made me think of some of my favorite Texas songs like this one:

But probably my favorite Texas song of all is this one:

I love Jimmie Rodgers.

So do you have any favorite Texas songs?

Note for the record: While I like songs about Texas, I hate Texas, especially the Texas Rangers, whom my Yankees are playing tonight in Game 1 of the American League Championship Series. Go Yankees.

3 responses to “Cleaning my gun and dreaming of Galveston

  1. I don’t want to click on any of those links…Then those dumb songs will be stuck in my head!

  2. Ahem…..

    Texas rocks. The Rangers rock.

    Yamned Dankees.

  3. I grew up in a town called Galva (IL), but I’ve always felt that Galveston was our Southern sister city:)