Patron of the Week: Mrs. I’m-Going-To-Share-My-Political-Views-Whether-You-Want-To-Hear-Them-Or-Not

Graphic for button from New Media Consortium on Flickr

This week’s Patron of the Week comes from the Land of Unsolicited Political Diatribes.

Please welcome Mrs. I’m-Going-To-Share-My-Political-Views-Whether-You-Want-To-Hear-Them-Or-Not.

She is a prim and proper lady, wearing a red hat, most likely a member of the local Red Hat Society and every time she is at the library, I seem to be behind the circulation desk. And I seem to be the one with whom she wants to share her unsolicited political views, never mind if I want to hear them…which, for the record, I do not.

Though an admitted flaming liberal, I do not want to hear political views from either side of the spectrum when at the library. I’m not a bartender with whom you can share your rants and raves. I’m just here to check in, check out and shelve your freaking books…and, of course, look down my nose at some of your putrid choices, but I never comment on them. I just say, “Hmmm, I know a lot of people like her.” Or “Interesting” without saying the rest of what I’m thinking: “Interesting that so many people like shit written by her. I don’t know why.”

Anyway, this lady shares her opinions with me every time she comes to the library. Recently, she told me about a group of Lyndon LaRouche devotees who held a protest at the post office. Not only do they think that taxpayers shouldn’t be giving anything to the federal government, but also they think that our current president should be impeached. She naturally agreed with their point of view.

“Don’t you think the government has too much power?” She asked me.

All I could do was nod and say, “Hmmm, I know a lot of people think so.”

“I can’t believe that man is still in the White House, can you?”

“Hmmmm…interesting.”

Of course, deep down inside, my bleeding heart is beating extra fast and I’m biting down on my bleeding tongue, so I don’t blurt out something about what I really think is that the last denizen of that house is the one who should have been impeached just for pretending to play President.

But, of course, I won’t, because, after all, I’m just here to check in, check out and shelve your freaking books…

Are there situations where you have to bite your tongue? If so, what are they? Are they now because you are a follower of Lyndon LaRouche? 😉

To those of you who subscribe to Unfinished Rambler in a feed, we will be merging our feeds into one throughout this month. That feed can be found here on FeedBurner. Please make the switch to get both sides of this blog: the serious and the well, the not-so-serious.

3 responses to “Patron of the Week: Mrs. I’m-Going-To-Share-My-Political-Views-Whether-You-Want-To-Hear-Them-Or-Not

  1. Pingback: Mr. It’s-Just-This-War-And-That-Lying-Son-Of-A-Bitch-Rendell | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. Too bad librarians can’t tell people where to go…other than “upstairs, third row, about half-way down, second shelf from the top”.

  3. Living in the Bible Belt of course I have to bit my tongue. I started wearing a mouthpiece for protection. 😉

    I think it’s always a good idea to keep the piehole closed at work when the subject is politics or religion!