Not calling what I’m reading in October yet

My goal last month was to read five books and that is exactly what I did.

My goal this month also is low, with the exception that in at least one case, I plan on finishing a book which I’ve already started reading. That book is The Force Is Middling In This One (And Other Ruminations from the Outskirts of The Empire) by Robert Kroese.

The goal for this month, including that book, is eight books. As of now, I’ve read 50 books so far this year. If I finish eight books per month for the rest of the year, I’ll be up to 74 at the end of the year, which will eclipse my total for the last two years (54 and 70, respectively).

It’s not as if I don’t have plenty of books from which to choose.

Exhibit A:

Sunday Salon 08 22 10

That’s the bookcase setting behind me as I am writing this, with about 100 books there. Many of them are donations from my brother-in-law Warren, with the others collected from bookstores and library book sales.

Exhibit B:

Box of books2They are most of the Pennsylvania-Dutch Mystery with Recipes series by Tamar Myers, which were loaned to me by a patron at the library where I work.

Plus I’m still participating in the Agatha Christie Reading Challenge, although I’ve fallen off the pace there a little recently. Next up is Sad Cypress, but I’m not sure when I’ll start it.

In fact, I’m not sure what book I’m going to read next.

I guess I’ll just have to flip a coin and call it.

…although somehow I think it will be just a bit less serious than this. At least, I hope it’s not this serious.

8 responses to “Not calling what I’m reading in October yet

  1. Pingback: Flashback Friday on a Sunday with the Sunday Salon (TSS) | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. It’s always good to have goals, especially if you get a prize at the end. That’s how I get myself to work out. I don’t need a carrot to read.

    Except I have a book about Che Guevara sitting on my desk that has been sitting there for the past 12+ months.

    Maybe I should get started on that soon.

  3. Oh my gosh! EIGHT books in one month?! My goal is one book a month and sometimes I don’t even hit that. Good for you!

  4. Have you gotten a chance to read any more of the Mary Russell/Sherlock Holmes series by Laurie King yet?

    • I haven’t had a chance to read any more of the series, because unfortunately our library doesn’t have all of them…and I have to order the next one from interlibrary loan. AND 🙂 I need to read more of the original Sherlock Holmes first.

  5. I just don’t want to read anything sad or deep. Nothing “oprah-esque.” Right now I’m reading The Man Who Smiled by Henning Mankell, a Kurt Wallnder Mystery.

    So far, so good.