Another case of the fortunatelys, unfortunatelys

When I was a boy, my aunt got me a book called Fortunately by Remy Charlip for my birthday.

Fortunately, Ned was invited to a surprise party.
Unfortunately, the party was a thousand miles away.

Fortunately, a friend loaned Ned an airplane.
Unfortunately, the motor exploded.

Fortunately, there was a parachute in the airplane.
Unfortunately, there was a hole in the parachute.

And so on and so forth, although the book my aunt got for me used my name instead, making it even more personal and me even more egocentric than a then only child could be.

Sometimes I think my life is still like that book. For example, take yesterday, except my life almost always begins with the unfortunately:

Unfortunately, yesterday morning my wife had to take our car to the salvage yard.

Fortunately, my job at the library yesterday afternoon was only a mile away so I could walk.

Unfortunately, yesterday it rained.

Fortunately, I have an umbrella.

Unfortunately, it was a compact umbrella, meaning when the rain ran off its ribs, it ran right down the back of my pants, and by the back of my pants, I mean, yes, down my ass crack and then down my pants as if I had peed my pants backwards.

Fortunately, the pair of pants I was wearing was black and not the beige ones I sometimes wear.

Unfortunately, the pair of socks I had placed in the backpack got soaked too.

Fortunately, somehow the pair of shoes I had placed in the backpack didn’t.

Unfortunately, the pair of socks that I was wearing still were wet so when I put them into the pair of dry shoes, it didn’t make much difference.

Fortunately, I don’t think patrons noticed the squishing sounds I made when I walked.

Unfortunately, I did notice and the sounds of water made me have to pee.

Fortunately, the library has a bathroom.

Unfortunately, I was unable to make it.

Fortunately, I was wearing black pants so no one noticed.

To those of you who subscribe to just Unfinished Rambler in a feed, I will be merging my feeds into one with Unfinished Person in the near future. That feed can be found here on FeedBurner. Please make the switch to get both sides of this blog: the serious and the well, the not-so-serious.

6 responses to “Another case of the fortunatelys, unfortunatelys

  1. …and if you don’t wear black pants, carry a BIG umbrella to hide behind for fortune in unfortunate circumstances!

  2. Thank goodness for Black Pants!! Life is a case of the Fortunately/Unfortunatelys, huh?

  3. Oops.

    At least it wasn’t a brown pants day.

    Fortunately.

  4. Next time I’m pissed off at something going wrong in my life I am going to play this game. Better yet, I’m going to make my *kids* play this game next time they’re pissed off.

  5. Hey, if you can end up on a “Fortunately,” it can’t be all bad, right?