Patron of the Week: Mrs. I-Just-Wanted-To-Let-You-Know-These-Audiobooks-I’m-Donating-Use-Curse-Words

 

Graphic for button from New Media Consortium on Flickr

 

This week’s Patron of the Week comes from the Land of the Puritans.

Please say hello to Mrs. I-Just-Wanted-To-Let-You-Know-These-Audiobooks-I’m-Donating-Use-Curse-Words.

On Thursday, a woman stopped by the library to donate a bag of audiobooks.  She left, but then returned a minute later to whisper the following warning to our circulation librarian:

“I just wanted to let you know: There’s cursing on some of those, especially the James Patterson. You might want to warn people because if they’re listening to one and driving down the road, they might be shocked and it could cause an accident.”

I just hope that she didn’t donate this audiobook:

 

Barack Obama: Dreams From My Father (Cover)

Image by Idhren via Flickr

 

It might cause both Democrats and Republicans to have an accident, at least the ones who haven’t listened to Molly Ivins or P.J. O’Rourke. Just listen to these two samples culled from April Winchell’s blog post on the subject:

At the least, I would think it would make someone’s hair curl.

And, of course, if this

 

 

Obama & Palin 'Dancing With The Stars'

Image by Photo Giddy via Flickr

 

happened, that would be enough to make anyone’s hair to curl.

My hairs are just twitching at the sight of that, and I think I’d do some cursing myself if it did happen.

 

To those of you who subscribe to Unfinished Rambler in a feed, we will be merging our feeds into one as of Friday, Oct. 1. That feed can be found here on FeedBurner. Please make the switch to get both sides of this blog: the serious and the well, the not-so-serious.

12 responses to “Patron of the Week: Mrs. I-Just-Wanted-To-Let-You-Know-These-Audiobooks-I’m-Donating-Use-Curse-Words

  1. Oh my. Let’s hope this patron never read The Scarlet Letter!
    That letter A stands for….shh….don’t tell anybody…

    adultery.

    GASP!

    I’m sorry, I’m sorry! I couldn’t contain myself! Forgive me! I have sinned! I have sinned!
    May heaven help me!

  2. Evidently, the woman had never read one of Patterson’s books before renting the audio version. In some ways, it does my heart good to know there are still naive people out there.

  3. unfinishedrambler

    Oh, yeah, very nice for donating…even despite her…well…qualms. 🙂

  4. NO! Not cursing! Well, she is a nice patron for donating, right?

  5. This made me laugh. She just didn’t want you to be SHOCKED. 🙂

  6. I just had this flash of the president doing the whole diner scene from Pulp Fiction. (No jeri curl though. Please. )

  7. Oh, Lordy, Lordy. Cursing? JHC and GOSH DERN IT!

    I’ve probably already offended your patron.

    Sigh.