The post where I admit I have the attention span of a gnat (TSS)

The Sunday Salon.comEarlier this week, I outlined my modest reading goals for this month, one of which was to continue participating in a read-along of Charles Dickens’ Bleak House with Amanda of The Zen Leaf. However, this morning, as I picked up the book to begin again, realized I already am two weeks behind in the schedule and haven’t contributed a single post about the read-along, I decided that it was time for me to abandon this reading challenge.

Cover of

Cover of The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest

I’m also reading two other books now, The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson, and The Force Is Middling In This One (And Other Ruminations from the Outskirts of The Empire) by Robert Kroese. Friday I also received Purple Jesus by Ron Cooper in the mail, which I’m going to be reading along with a group over at Goodreads, after being invited by J.C. Montgomery of The Biblio Blogazine. Not to mention that I have Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins, waiting in the wings, and which my wife is reading now.

Plus I have the attention span of a gnat. I have to admit that one of the reasons I continue with the Agatha Christie Reading Challenge is because the books average around 200 pages.

Speaking of the Agatha Christie Reading Challenge, this month Agatha Christie would have been 100 years old on Sept. 15, if she still were alive, and in celebration of that, the Agatha Christie Reading Challenge Carnival is having a blog carnival tour all month, started Wednesday and running through Sept. 30 (click on link for full schedule). This blog will be one of the stops on the tour on Thursday, Sept. 9, with me as your host for that day. I hope you’ll stop by here and the other blogs along the way.

Before I leave here to continue reading Larsson and Kroese’s books, I do want to mention a few posts from earlier this week on this blog that you might have missed:

  1. My sister, Lisa of Boondock Ramblings, wrote a guest post here about how she fell in love with To Kill A Mockingbird.
  2. My alter ego, Unfinished Rambler, wrote a post about not getting a photo of what would have been excellent blog fodder.
  3. He also wrote another post earlier in the week called “I am stuck on this ditty and this ditty’s stuck on me“.

So what are you reading today? Any books you’ve abandoned this week or within the last few months? Or ever?

11 responses to “The post where I admit I have the attention span of a gnat (TSS)

  1. I’m still only three pages into the Tattoo book. I just haven’t had time to read but now that the kids are back in school I might be able to find some.

  2. I have all three of the Larsson books on my nightstand. Untouched. Spine not even creased. I am hoping for snow this winter, and planning on reading them with hot chocolate.

  3. I used to grit my teeth and drag myself through every book I started, but now I abandon books with much less guilt than I used to. There are so many books that sound good to me when I read about them on someone’s blog or hear an interview with the author on the radio, but then they hold no interest for me when I see them on my TBR list a month or so later.

    • I’ve learned it’s not worth the effort to drag myself through every book I start. There are too many books out there — why not read the ones that are more interesting?

  4. I’m listening to The Girl Who Played With Fire on audio right now – it’s so good so far – I keep finding extra things to do around the house so I can keep listening!

    • I stopped reading the third one here this evening to watch the end of the miniseries John Adams and then watched another episode of Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles, but want to get back to it soon — probably tomorrow. I think the second one takes the series to another level from the first one and so far, I’m finding the third one to be the same: in that it is taking it to another level, too. And by “another level,” I mean “a higher level.” 🙂

  5. I would not say you have the attention span of a gnat. I’ve seen gnat-sized attention spans. On a daily basis. I work with five-year-olds. With five-year-olds, you are talking gnat.

    I’d say attention span of a frog. Perhaps a blue-tongued skink.

    Much longer than a gnat. Trust me.

    My Salon post:
    http://www.readerbuzz.blogspot.com

  6. Oh, I read TKAM this week! Great book…it only took me 50 years to get to it! lol

    Here’s my salon:

    http://accidentalmoments.wordpress.com/2010/09/05/the-sunday-salon-labor-day-weekend/

  7. I have the Larsson books in my TBR. Enjoy your books and the week!