What once was lost but now is found

For this week’s Flashback Friday, where I use St. Ignatius of Loyola’s Examen as a guide, I will be phrasing the questions slightly different from how I usually do here:

For what are you grateful that once was lost that has been found this past week?

For what are you not grateful that once was found has been lost this past week or maybe even before now?

What got me thinking along these lines was last Saturday, the end of last week, while getting ready to go to work at the library, I found something unexpected in a pocket of the pair of pants I pulled from the closet to wear:

iPod shuffle

Yep, it’s an iPod shuffle. Yep, not a newer model, but still a nice piece of equipment to have when you (meaning in this case, I) walk to work — and would have been nice to have earlier this summer when I felt unmotivated to jog. It has been lost for several months and I had been thinking of buying a new one to replace it, but now I don’t have to do that (of course, looking at the new model of the shuffle, a small part of me wishes this one had remained lost).

Then earlier this week I “found” another item that had been missing, only  a week but still was causing a bit of distress. That item is here:

earbuds

It’s a headset that goes along with my phone. I don’t talk on the phone when I’m driving much (okay, that’s not true, I do ALL THE TIME), but when I do, I like to use a headset, so imagine my frustration when I lost the above headset. Yep, it was THAT frustrating, meaning, yep, a slight irritation, but still irritating enough for me to bother my wife about it.

Where was the headset? Was it hidden somewhere? Under a couch cushion perhaps? Um, nope, it was right underneath my desk, where I’m now typing this post.

A-ha. There you are.

Now while these little things aren’t necessary to my existence, they do make life a bit easier, and maybe more comfortable, than it would be without them. So I’m grateful I was able to find them…and I know I’m sure my wife is grateful that I found them that she doesn’t have to hear me lament their loss yet again.

As for what I’m not grateful that once was found that has been lost this past week (and definitely before this week), it’s one thing: motivation, about which I wrote earlier this week in The worst part of waking up and I don’t see Jupiter rising. (On a side note, that latter title is quite possibly the worst title I’ve ever had as evidenced by the overwhelming number of responses I received to the post, which, by the way, thanks to nonamedufus for the pity comment. I appreciate it. Any pity comments on this post would be appreciated too. Thanks in advance to noname and any of you who do grace this post with your pity comments.)

In fact, I’m so unmotivated that I’m not even going to continue to write about how unmotivated I am.

After all, motivation is such an aggravation.

Comments are closed.