Looking back on my reading in the month of August (TSS)

Number 5

Image by Larry Miller via Flickr

Today’s post is brought to you by the number 5, because it’s the loneliest number that you’ll ever do…oh, wait a minute, mixing up my numbers here. Sorry, it’s early. But why the number 5, you may ask?

Simple: it’s the number of books I’ve read so far this month:

  1. The Girl Who Played With Fire by Stieg Larsson
  2. Godric by Frederick Buechner
  3. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
  4. Faceless Killers by Henning Mankell
  5. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

The Sunday Salon.com I’m still waiting for Mockingjay at the library. I’m on the staff there, but our library director trumped me — and only me (no other patrons waiting surprisingly and no favoritism, for the record) — on the hold list, so I have to wait.

Out of the five, my least favorite was the Mankell book, the first of the Kurt Wallander series. I hope the series picks up later, but I’m not rushing to read the second one. The other four all are neck-and-neck for being my favorite of the month, but I’ll break it down a bit more for you: The second of the Millennium trilogy by Larsson and the first of the Hunger Games trilogy by Collins probably edge out the novel by Buechner and the second of the Hunger Games trilogy, because of the first two’s qualities as a “page-turner.” I’d probably then rate Godric ahead of Catching Fire, because the former was so well-written, and the latter was a bit of a let down from the first part of the trilogy.

Speaking of “page-turners,” they were the subject of two of my posts this past month:

and speaking of Godric, it was the subject of this month’s Faith’n’ Fiction Saturday Round Table discussion, sponsored by My Friend Amy, in which I participated and posted part of the discussion yesterday.

Also this month I (technically, my alter ego, Unfinished Rambler) started a new series called Patron of the Week, which I choose from among candidates at the library where I work, and I added two new categories here on the blog: The Library and Facebook. In the latter category was my most popular post this month: Why  Can We Defriend, which as of this morning is one hit ahead of the second most popular post of this month and the last few months: Rachael Ray and her Glasgow smile.

Among the reasons why I only read five books this month (so far) was Netflix, including over the last couple of nights, my starting to watch Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles, Season 2. I’ll leave you with the opening sequence of the season that features a cover version of the Blind Willie song, If I Had My Way (aka Samson and Delilah), which also was covered by other artists including, most notably, The Grateful Dead and Peter, Paul and Mary.

This version is done by Shirley Manson, lead singer of the group Garbage, who also starred in this season of the show.

Click here for the original song.

So how was your month in reading? What were your favorite/least favorite books of the month?

8 responses to “Looking back on my reading in the month of August (TSS)

  1. Pingback: Planning the kind of September where life is slow and oh, so mellow | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. I just finished The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, and though a part of me wants to rush on to the next one, I think that I will take a breather and maybe come back to the series in a month or so. I have read a lot fewer books this month than I normally do, but I have enjoyed almost everything that I have read. I am also waiting to read Mockingjay. So far I have remained unspoiled which I am happy about.

    • When you say “unspoiled,” I’m assuming you’re meaning about Mockingjay? If so, I’ve remained “unspoiled” too and most of the book bloggers that I read have been good about not giving too much away in their discussions on Twitter. I’ve avoided reviews, especially the ones that say “Spoiler warning.”

      With a series like the Millennium series, I don’t see how you could go away for that long. Admittedly, with longer series, say of a character which is in 13 or 14 books or more, I can go away and then return later. However, with a trilogy like this, I’m too tempted…and why I already have the third one out from the library and will be reading soon.

  3. I’m intrigued by the furor over the Hunger Games series…haven’t read any of them, but that’s not to say that I won’t.

    Meanwhile, I’m working on a different kind of books, which you can read about here:

    http://accidentalmoments.wordpress.com/2010/08/29/the-sunday-salon-august-29/

    • To be honest, I held off for the longest time, but finally the “peer” pressure of book bloggers got to me…and I caved. I’m glad that I did. The first one was extremely compelling and while the second one wasn’t quite as good, it was still very well done and I’m hoping the third, even if it doesn’t live up to “the hype,” at least will be worth my time reading. 🙂

  4. Sorry. That’s “almost in a t-r-a-n-c-e”, not t-r-a-c-e.

  5. I got in the car yesterday, almost in a trace, and drove to Target where I purchased Mockingjay. The checkout clerk said, “Man, a lot of people are buying that book!” so I was obligated, as a librarian, to tell him about the series.

    I just finished The Three Musketeers and that’s the subject of my Sunday Salon. Hope you will stop by.

    • As someone who works at a library, I’d be obligated to tell him too. Of course, I’d tell him he doesn’t need to buy it, but can go to the library to borrow. He might have to wait, but it’s still free. 🙂

      Going to stop by at your blog next.