Scrapping reading plans and starting over (sort of) TSS

Sunday Salon 08 22 10The Sunday Salon.com

The above is a photo of the bookcase in my office, which is right behind my desk where I am sitting to write this post. As you can see, it’s quite full: almost 100 books (I counted 93, but I think there are a few behind the books visible). It is a project I plan to tackle in the upcoming months (and years). Most of books there were given to me by my brother-in-law Warren, many of which are Hard Case Crime books, as well as assorted Elmore Leonard and Arthur C. Clarke novels, to name just a few of the authors there.

Because of that, my reading plans for the month of August and my plans as outlined in May for the rest of the year are now scrapped, although a few of the books that I own are “still in play.” agatha_christie_rc Also “still in play” is the Agatha Christie Reading Challenge (click on the button at right to join) as started by Kerrie of Mysteries in Paradise, even though I did not get to a single one of Dame Christie’s works this month. And finally “still in play” are the John Dortmunder series by Donald E. Westlake, which I’m reading in chronological order. The series has 14 novels and two shorter works.

Along the way, I have abandoned two reading challenges: one, which was called Milton in May, and another, the Baker Street Challenge by bloggers who are currently inactive, so I won’t provide links to their blogs or the now defunct challenges. I did take on one challenge earlier this month, reading Godric by Frederick Buechner for a Faith’n’Fiction Saturday Round Table taking place over at My Friend Amy which will be posted later this month on various blogs. Starting this week, I will be joining Amanda at The Zen Leaf for a read-along of Bleak House by Charles Dickens, which is one of the books in the case pictured above (technically sitting on my desk right now, but still it was on one of the shelves). That read-along will run through Oct. 27.

I also have signed up to take part in a read-along of Purple Jesus by Ron Cooper, to which I was invited by J.C. Montgomery of The Biblio Blogazine on Goodreads and to which I responded on a whim. That will begin, I guess, as soon as I get the book in the mail.

Whew! I think that will be more than enough to keep me busy for the rest of this year (and maybe for years to come, like I’ve said) so all the  other books from the library, with the exception of one Donald E. Westlake book,What’s The Worst That Could Happen?, are going back tomorrow.

So do you have a “reading plan” for the rest of the month, the rest of the year and upcoming years? Are you over-committed with challenges? Do you ever scrap plans in favor of another plan or plans?

In case you missed it, this week I:

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

16 responses to “Scrapping reading plans and starting over (sort of) TSS

  1. Pingback: Two books from the library at a time and one book per week from the TBR shelf (TSS) | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. Pingback: Trying to fall into The Big Sleep while not falling into it, if you know what I mean (TSS) | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  3. Pingback: November: Charlie Chan novels and The Taking of Pelham One Two Three in all its forms | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  4. Pingback: Not calling what I’m reading in October yet | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  5. Pingback: Planning the kind of September where life is slow and oh, so mellow | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  6. Oh yeah! A package arrived! And a little six yr old hid it from me for a couple of days. But I sniffed it out.

    How? Little six yr old boys don’t know how to keep a secret if their life depended on it!

    Whew!

    THANK-YOU from the bottom of my fire-playing heart!

    You and your lovely wife (cute pics) totally RAWK!

    Thank-you again for your generosity, I know I didn’t deserve it, but I’m glad you did it!

    And if there’s EVER anything I can do for you two…just let Nonamedufus know. I’m sure he’d be happy to do it for you.

    *smile*

    Ha!

  7. I have over 150 books in queue to read, some of which are listed on my blog (http://www.tdbellenterprises.com/dbblog) in the sidebar. I need to get all of them in the list some time so I can keep track of what I have read and what I have to read still!!

    I love reading, but blogging has taken a lot of my time, so things have slowed way down on reading. Also, work keeps wanting me to come to work and actually work, so that gets in the way too….

    • Dang work anyway ;). Gotta hate it sometime.

      An interesting selection of books from what I saw…I think I saw you’re Catholic on one of your sites. Same here…glad to know there’s a few of us still left :).

      • Except for the need for money to buy more books (and I just found out I’m getting a Kindle for my birthday Friday (although it is back ordered and may be a couple of week longer)) and other important stuff such as food, shelter, etc., I don’t like work at all… I do enjoy helping sick people (I work at a hospital supplying the OR cases), but would rather study and read most of the time……

        Yep, Catholic and proud of it!! Was a Friar for a few years to boot!

  8. I think you’re reading my mind! Because I plan on transferring schools next year, I know I’ll probably be moving. I counted my unread books yesterday and came up with 214. I’ve already quit most of my reading challenges, so I’m hoping to just read as books from my unread stacks as I can before moving next year. Good luck with all the reading!

    • These, technically, aren’t all my unread books either. These are only the ones in my office. I probably have another 20 on a shelf in our bedroom and scattered around the house. When I had a book blog, I joined too many reading challenges and then failed. Now I limit myself to a few that I know I realistically can do.

  9. Due to RL problems, I’ve read very little this year. About two weeks ago I started to get back in the swing of things, but I have chucked out all of the challenges. They just aren’t working for me. The only challenge I kept is a perpetual one: Book Around the World. My reading plan is to get through my physical TBR stack this year. It’s slinking, slowly, but I’m getting there. Then once that’s done, I’ll start with finishing (or catching up) with all the series I am currently reading. After that, I can get started on my TBR list, neatly laid out in a spreadsheet. Which, incidentally, keeps growing. Who needs challenges? I’ve got enough to keep me busy for years! 😉

    • I’ve heard of others doing spreadsheets. I guess I’m just not that organized and like to read a little bit “by the seat of my pants.” Whatever comes along, I’ll read. I have no plan where I’m starting on the almost 100 books on that bookcase, just whatever strikes my fancy when I go there — most likely tomorrow at this point.

  10. Oh, I definitely scrap plans…all the time! I try not to sign up for too many challenges, but out of those I did commit to, I’ve finished most of them.

    My biggest challenge is reading through my TBR stacks, which counted at 166 books in September. I started a new blog to document that journey. The original stacks are down to 118 books, but I’ve added new ones. Those stacks number at 33 now, which doesn’t include the new books (as well as old ones) that I’ve read.

    I am tracking books read this year, which now total 92.

    Here’s my salon, with this past week’s reading, etc.:

    http://accidentalmoments.wordpress.com/2010/08/22/the-sunday-salon-august-22/

    • Wow, and I thought I had a lot of blogs. I was just checking out some of your blogs and have to say….well, wow. I used to have umpteen blogs too, but then cut back to one. It’s so much easier…of course, I still don’t find as much time for reading as I have in the past. So far, I’ve only read just over 40 books this year, but that’s okay. I’m enjoying the books I am reading.