The month of playing with, and hopefully catching, fire (TSS)

The Sunday Salon.com Here it is halfway through the month and I’ve only read one of the 14 books I had planned to read this month: The Girl Who Played With Fire by Stieg Larsson, the second of the Millenium series. In my defense, it was over 700 pages (and excellent, by the way), but still…the only other book I’ve read this month was Godric by Frederick Buechner at 178 pages for a Faith’n’Fiction Saturday Round Table taking place over at My Friend Amy. The e-mail discussion is set to begin later tonight, with posts to come later in the month.

This week, my goals are:

  1. to read The Hunger Games and Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins before Aug. 24, when the third of the series Mockingjay is set to hit bookstores. I did get this one out of the library to join (late) Book Club Girl in her read-along, but my wife grabbed it up before I could get to it. So far, she’s loving it.
  2. to read at least one, if not more, of the Agatha Christie books on my shelf, which include Sad Cypress, The Patriotic Murders (aka One, Two, Buckle My Shoe and An Overdose of Death), for the continuing Agatha Christie Reading Challenge, hosted by Kerrie of Mysteries in Paradise.

(Aside: Kerrie sent me a coupon to The Book Depository earlier this month, which I used to buy Faceless Killers, the first Kurt Wallander mystery, by Henning Mankell. I also have begun that, but am putting on hold for these other “projects.” Thanks again, Kerrie.)

I think that’s enough for this week.

At the end of the month, I will be joining Amanda at The Zen Leaf for a read-along of Bleak House by Charles Dickens, which I have setting on a shelf on our bookcase. That read-along will run through Oct. 27. I think what also intrigued me about this one was that eventually I would like to see the BBC miniseries, starring Gillian Anderson (yes, that Gillian Anderson of X-Files fame).

In another effort to read the book before seeing the miniseries, I also picked up The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett at our library from the donation shelf, because I’ve heard talk about the miniseries on Starz around the blogosphere and eventually would like to see it too. At 983 pages, though, it might be a while before I get to watch it. I just hope it will still be available on Netflix Instant Watch by that time.

Disclosure: I rarely buy books from online or “big box” bookstores. In fact, I ordered Buechner’s Godric at our local bookstore, From My Shelf Books, where I got it for a price probably lower than many online stores. However, for full disclosure and one for which the owners of the aforementioned store, Kevin and Kasey, might never forgive me, I did purchase The Girl Who Played With Fire at a “big box” bookstore in an act of weakness at the end of last month. I know, I deserve at least forty lashes — maybe even fifty– with a wet noodle, although Kevin probably will argue that a cattail whip of knotted cords of nails would work better. For the record, I most likely will opt for something in between, but leaning toward the lesser extreme.

16 responses to “The month of playing with, and hopefully catching, fire (TSS)

  1. Have you read the first one: The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo? If you have, I’d be glad to mail you the second one. After all, I’m done with it.

    We’ll get to the miniseries here soon. Actually even with all the reading I’ve been doing, both wife and I have been able to watch movies and miniseries (most recently finished watching MI-5, Vol. 7 and 30 Rock, Season 3, both thanks to Netflix).

  2. So you gonna mail me The Girl Who Played With Fire when you’re done with it?

    Kidding! (I think.)

    And I loved the mini-series Bleak House. I thought Ms. Anderson did a great job. Another great BBC mini-series is Wives and Daughters. I thought it was better than the much fawned over (even by me) Pride and Prejudice. But it doesn’t sound like you’re going to have much viewing time with 14 books to read!

    Whew!

    I thought I was book crazy. *smile*

  3. OMG! I don’t mean to be rude, but you are the only other person in the entire world that’s ever mentioned reading one of Frederick Buechner’s books besides myself. He is (was, I guess) an amazing essay writer, and would’ve made a terrific blogger, in my humble opinion. So if you could only read one (or two) book(s) this month, at least you picked a great one, Rambler.

    I will say that I think reading 14 books in one month was a bit ambitious, though.

    Also, why do you buy books at all? Don’t you work in a library?

    • To be honest, I was surprised that the Faith’n’Fiction group mentioned him, because until they mentioned him, I thought I was the only one who read his books too. Now I find out that not only the organizer there has heard of him, but now you also…I’m so bummed. πŸ™‚

      14 books: It is ambitious, but last month, I made it to 12 — even though to put it in perspective, several of those were under 200 pages.

      As for buying books, in the case of Godric, we didn’t have it at our library and I didn’t have time to wait for interlibrary loan. In the case of The Girl Who Played With Fire, I was too kind and let a patron who had the book on hold after me take it — and then she took forever to get to it, so I got impatient and went and bought it. Most of the time, I don’t buy books and do get them from the library.

  4. I read Hunger Games in one sitting. The same can be said for Catching Fire. They don’t take much thought to breeze through but I wish I could read them a bit slower just to linger a bit in the story.

    I can’t wait to read book 3.

    • Wife just finished The Hunger Games this afternoon (all she could say after finishing it was “Wow!”) and I’ll be starting later tonight. Catching Fire is on hold at the library, so hope to get that one too. Working on finishing another book first.

  5. I love Agatha Christie. I usually turn to her when in a reading drought, which has been the last 2 months. I bought a couple of boxes of her books on ebay- totally great deal and great to have them all around. I liked the first and second Larsson book but have not felt the desire to read the third one.

    • You haven’t felt the desire???? Are you serious? πŸ™‚ Oh, wow. I’m really looking forward to the third one, but have other “commitments” now.

      If you love Christie, you should join the reading challenge (for which I should add there is no deadline; it’s ongoing).

  6. It’s okay about the big-box store. I browse in them all the time and I love them, and once in a great while I’ve been known to buy there, as well. The best ones are like giant cathedrals of literature. Borders in Boston is magnificent, and I SO miss Waterstone’s being in Boston.

  7. Umm…that comment was from me. Me as in Deb as in Sawyer as in Deb Sawyer.

  8. Pillars of the Earth is very, very good! I just bought Follett’s World Without End…can’t wait to start it!

    • I might get to Pillars of the Earth next month while I’m reading Bleak House. Still waiting for The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest from the library; I’m on the hold list, but next…