Patron of the Week: Mr./Mrs./Ms. I-Leave-Random-Shit-In-Books

Last week I began a new series here called Patron of the Week, with our first honoree being Little Miss I-Don’t-Want-To-Pay-All-My-Fine-Because-(insert excuse here). This week I continue the series…

Patron of the Week 2

This week’s Patron of the Week comes to us from the Land of Composite in that he/she isn’t just one individual, but is a group of individuals that make up this week’s Patron of the Week. Please welcome Mr./Mrs./Ms. I-Leave-Random-Shit-In-Books (ILRSIB).

As you might can see partially hidden behind the papers hanging off the bulletin board, he/she likes to leave mostly photos, but then also other detritus ranging from an iTunes gift card for the younger crowd to one time an NRA instructor’s manual for the older crowd. But mostly photos are what ILRSIB likes to leave behind for librarians to find.

Perhaps the most embarrassing photo is the one setting on the mantel above, at left, with a woman with a not particularly ingratiating look on her face as she is drinking what looks like a chardonnay in a plastic cup (I’m going to go way out on a limb and guess Franzia) at maybe a family picnic. I couldn’t make the photo any larger so as not to break confidentiality– even though I really, really wanted to do so (well, not break confidentiality, but make the photo larger than it is seen here, but then by doing so, well, I would have broken confidentiality).

However, I did find a photo online representative of how the woman looks in the photo:

Photo courtesy of emotionaltoothpaste/Tracie Masek on Flickr

Included in that same pile of photos is this gem:

Patron of the Week 2.1

I put the smiley face over the subject’s face thanks to Flickr and Picnik, again to protect confidentiality. One of the other staff at the library said she thought it was offensive that somebody left a photo like that in the books they returned. Personally, I don’t find it that offensive. After all, sometimes people forget what they’re doing, where they’re going or where they’ve been, or, to put it another way, sometimes shit happens.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

11 responses to “Patron of the Week: Mr./Mrs./Ms. I-Leave-Random-Shit-In-Books

  1. Have you run into the folks who copy edit books for you? I will admit that I notice typos in books but I don’t feel compelled to mark them up.

    Alright, I do feel compelled to mark them up but I always use invisible ink.

  2. I love it that you suspect the wine in the plastic cup was Franzia. That’s a funny bit of detail, Rambler, and I’m still laughing at it.

    • unfinishedrambler

      I’d like to say that I have no experience with Franzia, but alas, that wouldn’t be true.

  3. If you find that photo of me from my that one time in band camp, would you please just burn it? I think it was in the “Where the Wild things Are” book I checked out last year.

  4. Will there be a post on the Shit That People Write in Books? Because THAT I find offensive.

    Pearl

    • unfinishedrambler

      I find THAT offensive too, but I won’t be posting anything on that because I don’t read shit. If I do, I put it down and start another book. 🙂

  5. Wow. I’ll be careful what I use as a bookmark from now on. If you find my Victoria’s Secret gift card, just leave a comment on my blog. 😉

    • unfinishedrambler

      Um, I doubt it. There’s something I might want to get…not for ME! No, really (oh, great, look what I’ve started). 😉

  6. And some people are just morons. count your blessings- at least it’s metaphorical and not literal sh*t.