Lybopsy: the examination of ?

lybopsyIt’s been off and on again here, but today I’m making it official: I’m going to have a Captcha of the Week every week, starting today. However, I don’t promise on what day it will be. Most likely it will be Tuesday or Thursday, but I make no promises. For previous Captcha of the Week posts, check my Captcha of the Week posts on posterous.

Above is this week’s Captcha of the Week.

I first tried to examine the word based etymologically by breaking down the word: “Ly-“, the first part of the word, which Merriam-Webster says originates with the Greek word lyein, meaning “to loosen or dissolve”, and “-opsy,” the second part of the word, which MW says orginates from the Greek words opsia and opsis, meaning “examination.”

I thought to myself maybe “lybospy” then means “examination of loose bowels” as in “diahrrea,” but then I realized I was missing the “b.” …unless, just unless that “b” stands for “bowels,” which might make sense in light of that (um, not that THAT is not disgusting, I mean, yeah, I know doctors have to do that kind of thing, but I really don’t want to do that kind of thing).

If that is not the case, then I’m not sure what “lyb-” means as a prefix. MW was no help with that supposition, although the Free Dictionary says LYB in caps stands for a variety of things, including “Love You Babe” and “Love Your Body,” which I’m not sure how that fits in with “examination.” If any of you find a more reasonable explanation, let me know in the comments. This was only after a cursory (meaning “extra lazy”) use of Google. Maybe you’ll find something in a more extensive (meaning “you’ve got too much time on your hands, you silly git”) use of Google.

For more wordplay on word verification words, see this post from Nonamedufus, who, I’m a little behind, but I just learned, is on a blogcation for a few weeks. Dammit.

11 responses to “Lybopsy: the examination of ?

  1. Pingback: Catching up on Captchas of the Weeks: From “agthst” to the ever popular “sperm” | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. Now they are all italicized! What happened? Why am I being singled out? How do I stop being italicized?

    • unfinishedrambler

      I don’t know why.

    • unfinishedrambler

      But now it’s happening to me too. Dang it…I’ll have to check with WordPress.com later…now I’m at work and working really hard, can’t you tell? 😉

    • Actually I found out the reason you were being singled out was because you put a space in the code for italics, and also had the code backward (I’d explain, but by even putting in the code, it then makes the code, thus defeating the purpose of my tutorial 🙂 ) and then it affected all the other comments. So it was YOUR fault. 😉 <– Well, really, it was.

  3. That last sentence shouldn’t have been italicized.

  4. … “Love Your Body,” which I’m not sure how that fits in with “examination.”

    I believe there are many names for that activity — the first one that came to my mind was slapping the monkey.

    • unfinishedrambler

      Yes, that would work…er, I mean, I assume…not that I would know. 😉

      I don’t know why I didn’t think of that (digging myself into a hole deeper than I first intended with this statement). It must have been because it was too late. Well, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

    • I believe there are many names for that activity — the first one that came to my mind was slapping the monkey.

      The first one that came to my mind is Moooog.

  5. YIKES! It would have been more fun as “lyboobsy” or “lypoopsy”.