Long-haired freaky people

Looking back on today was a pretty normal summer Friday at the library where I work: slow and boring.

However, now that I sit here and recollect my thoughts, one patron’s comment to me does stand out amongst the others. The patron, a man in his 70s, said to me about a female patron with long hair:

“She has nice long hair. Hair like that clogs drains.”

Hmmm. I mean, yes, that is true about long hair, but why did he feel compelled to share that with me?

Personally, yes, I know that from experience, because my wife has long hair, but would I comment about it to total strangers?

Oops.Ā  Never mind.

Posted via The Collective.

13 responses to “Long-haired freaky people

  1. Pingback: Introducing the Patron of the Week: Little Miss I-Don’t-Want-To-Pay-All-My-Fine-Because-(insert excuse here) « an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. Those are the people who are the most fun to be around — they’re usual 70 or older and they say anything that’s on their minds.

    I once knew a woman in her 90s by the name of Gertrude who was the same way. I told her about my new kitten and this is what she said.

    “When I was a child we a cat that gave birth to five kittens. My father put them in a bag and drown them.”

    • unfinishedrambler

      We live in a town that has several retirement homes in it and on the outskirts, so we get to hear the funniest (and sometimes saddest) things from the “old folks.”

  3. His comment’s interesting. He likes her hair. He hates her hair. Obviously, he’s a thoughtful guy, willing to consider all sides of an issue. I assume that means he doesn’t work in talk radio, or in politics.

  4. I’ve had longish, thick locks all my life. But since my radiation sessions in April I know it’s not me that’s clogging up the shower drain. (In fact I kinda like the low maintenance approach!)

    • unfinishedrambler

      Well, that’s one way to look on the bright side of life. šŸ™‚ I’ve always liked the low maintenance approach myself.

  5. Hum….most men think long hair on a woman is sexy. Drain-clogging is the new sexy?

    Ew.

    • unfinishedrambler

      So which do you have, Carol? I can’t see it sometimes underneath your biking helmet. šŸ™‚

  6. That was such an odd comment to make. When I had long hair, I never thought of it as the “drain-clogging” type. Hmmm.

  7. I, too, have drain-clogging hair, and from now on if someone asks me what my favorite physical feature is, I think I will proudly yell, “DRAIN-CLOGGING HAIR!”