The post wherein I realize yet again my eyes are bigger than my reading appetite (TSS)

July 2010 ReadingThe Sunday Salon.com

So above is  a pile of books that I planned on reading for this month.

The books pictured from top to bottom were:

  1. My Family and Other Animals by Gerald Durrell
  2. Morality for Beautiful Girls, the third No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency mystery, by Alexander McCall Smith
  3. The Kalahari Typing School for Men, the fourth No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency mystery, by Alexander McCall Smith
  4. And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie
  5. The Patriotic Murders by Agatha Christie
  6. Evil Under The Sun by Agatha Christie
  7. The Courage to be Catholic: Crisis, Reform and the Future of the Church by George Weigel
  8. River of Gods by Ian McDonald
  9. The Bureau and the Mole: The Unmasking of Robert Philip Hanssen, the Most Dangerous Double Agent in FBI History by David A. Vise
  10. Die Trying by Lee Child
  11. Drowned Hopes by Donald E. Westlake
  12. Don’t Ask by Donald E. Westlake
  13. Mainspring by Jay Lake
  14. Escapement by Jay Lake *
  15. Pinion by Jay Lake *
  16. How The Scots Invented The Modern World: The True Story of How Western Europe’s Poorest Nation Created Our World & Everything in It by Arthur Herman
  17. The Story of Edgar Sawtelle by David Wroblewski

Of course, after I took that picture, I realized I left out three others:

  1. Backseat Saints by Joshilyn Jackson *
  2. Between, Georgia also by Jackson *
  3. Sad Cypress by Agatha Christie

which brought the total to 20 for the month.

Of those 20, I’ve read three thus far, the ones marked out above. I’ve also given up on four others, the ones with an asterisk, two definitely (the Lake books after reading the first one and deciding Steampunk isn’t for me) and two others indefinitely (the Joshilyn Jackson books).

What hasn’t helped this list is that last week, I also received a book from interlibrary loan: A Monstrous Regiment of Women by Laurie R. King, the second in the Sherlock Holmes/Mary Russell series. Plus yesterday, while “working” at the library, I needed to find a book to read because it was an extremely slow day (I told the lady with whom I was working: “I’d like to say it’s been fun working with you, but really it hasn’t.”) and I had forgotten to take one of the above books with me to read during lunch.

Fortunately, being in a library, I had plenty of books from which to choose. Unfortunately, I was tired from staying up too late the previous night (staying up late playing a silly cellphone game) and couldn’t think straight, so I wandered the fiction aisles aimlessly, looking for the “right book.” Finally, I found it:  The Collaborator of Bethlehem by Matt Beynon Rees, the first in a mystery series featuring a Palestinian detective, Omar Yussef. I had come across the series in the process of shelf-reading.

So I’ve started both that book and the King book and probably will split my time between the two today.

So what’s on your reading radar for the rest this month? What are you reading today?

Addendum: I also read Two for the Money, two novels, by Max Allan Collins, which is part of the Hard Case Crime collection and Thor, a graphic novel, by J. Michael Straczynksi and Olivier Coipel. In short, I liked the graphic novel better than the other two. And, oh, as if that weren’t enough books, I did pick up two other books from the library this week: Losing My Religion: How I Lost My Faith Reporting on Religion in America– and Found Unexpected Peace by William Lobdell and The Gift of Peace: Personal Reflections by Joseph Cardinal Bernardin. Yes, sometimes my eyes are truly bigger than my reading appetite.

27 responses to “The post wherein I realize yet again my eyes are bigger than my reading appetite (TSS)

  1. Pingback: Weeding out, reorganizing and looking back (TSS) « an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. Hmmm … that book tower looks about my height. I’m hoping to be able to finish A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin this month (900 some pages).

    • I started on that series and then just lost track — not because it wasn’t good, but I just lost track. I didn’t realize until tonight when Googling it, that it’s only the third of seven books in the series. I will return to it someday. I don’t know when though.

  3. So did you read The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo yet? I loved it.

    I”ve always wondered how you read so much–I get your Goodreads.com updates–while working, blogging, commenting and everything else that you do. I’ ve bought at least fifteen books this month but when I sit down to read, I don’t do anything else. Then I don’t blog and I don’t have time to visit friends’ blogs.

    Next on my list is Craig Ferguson’s American on Purpose. But I’ve been holding off so I can reconnect with people online.

  4. Wow! It’s mystery month. I re-read And Then There Were None last month and found it to be just as creepy as the first time that I read it. I didn’t realize that it was Christie’s best selling book.

    • It’s always mystery month for me. I thrive on mysteries. I don’t know if I found And Then There Were None creepy as much as I found it a well-crafted story. I didn’t realize it was her bestselling book either. It was? Hmmm.

  5. Wow! That is a lot of books, but I totally understand because I do that myself. I skipped the last library book sale (for the first time ever) just because I have stacks of books around the house in random places. All my shelves are overflowing and many are double-stacked.

    • I skipped the last library book sale too, but mainly because our library doesn’t directly benefit from the sale (long story, but short version: group called Friends of the Library gets the money).

      Oh, and I know about double-stacked. It’s getting crazy…getting crazy? Who am I kidding? It’s been crazy around here for a while. 🙂

  6. No matter what I read, I never need a bookmark. The last pages stuck together by drool mark it for me. I have got to quit reading in bed.

  7. Nice list! I just added a Westlake mystery to my list of audiobooks to check out from the library’s Overdrive site – because I remember how much you like his work.

  8. Yes, I love the idea of a book pool in which to…well, dip…or wade….mmm…not sure how exactly to continue the analogy, but I definitely like it.

  9. You may take some comfort in knowing that your eyes aren’t the only ones that are bigger than your reading appetite. 🙂

    For the most part, though, I’ve been good about whittling down my TBR list this month. I’ve already scratched off one read that has been giving me the evil eye since I started it and set it aside (Stolen by Lucy Christopher, which was a special kind of agony to read). And I’ve already polished off another three books that were on my TBR pile so long spiders decided to take up housing. (I’m sort of joking. But only sort of.)

    But when it comes down to it, I’ve learned not to stress too much about not getting to everything on the pile. I simply create a book pool from which I can pick and choose depending on mood. So, think of that pile as a pool from which you’re picking and choosing…not necessarily with the intention of reading all of them in the month, but reading as many as you can (or want). Less stressful that way. 🙂

    • I like that advice. I guess that’s how I should look at it, and not like a homework assignment. Thanks for the advice. Since working at our local library, I have tried not to bring home every book I see that I want to read, but instead put them in a list for later: http://listography.com/unfinishedperson/books/books_%22found%22_while_shelf-reading …but then sometimes I can’t help myself. That said, I forgot to mention another book I read already this month that I picked up at the library: Eye of the Tsar by Sam Eastland, which is the first of a series about a Russian detective set in Stalin’s time.

  10. NICE pile! I’m just hanging out and doing some crafts today. probably will read a little, too. I’ve got THE FROZEN RABBI going right now-good stuff.