Horsing around

So last night I had the most wicked charley horse I’ve had in a long time, on top of my left thigh, and I posted about it on Facebook and Twitter.

Several of my friends gave me their advice, including:

Jennifer of the blog The Literate Housewife Review:

So sorry! I can remember getting those as a child. My dad got up and made me walk it off. It hurt like heck, but was really the right thing to do.

Vasilly of the blog 1330v:

Put a fresh bar of soap under the charley horse!

Rene of the blog Not the Rockefellers:

quinine water, or eat a banana ( your potassium levels may be low)

So what did I do? I didn’t get up and walk. Instead, I sat down and watched MI-5: Vol 6 (we’re still watching it, if you’ve seen beyond that, don’t tell me anything or I will be forced to hunt you down and kill you) on Netflix with The Wife.

I put nothing on my leg and didn’t drink quinine water, because The Wife said it tasted like faca. To be honest, I didn’t know what quinine water was until my wife told me it was tonic water, but I know I didn’t like the sound of “faca,” whatever that is.

I also didn’t eat a banana because, to be honest, bananas give me stomach aches.

Kevin, one of the owners of From My Shelf Books in Wellsboro, where I live, offered this suggestion:

try pinching your upper lip

then added a few moments later:

accupressure point

Another friend, Tricia, recommended water and a banana.

And yet another, Joe, said this:

Strike unaffected limb with heavy hammer, will take your mind off charley horse.

But the best answer of all of them, I think was this one from Ted:

One word. Tequila.

He then added a few more words, though:

Not only will you forget you had a charley horse, you’ll forget you had legs.

I only wish I could have some tequila, but I have to work tomorrow at the library, so if I get another charley horse tonight, I’ll just have to soldier on, I guess…but tomorrow night, bring on the tequila.

Speaking of not feeling your leg reminds me of one of my favorite scenes from this silly movie (at 1:15):

What do you suggest for a charley horse? My wife also added “rubbing dirt” into my leg. Do you think that’s a good course of action? 😉

7 responses to “Horsing around

  1. Ha, that’s funny advice you got from all your friends.

    I get Charlie horses all the time, but in my calves. What I’ve discovered over the years is that they’re related to being dehydrated. As long as I drink enough water, I’m fine.

    The tequila option, however, would also work for me. What you can’t feel, can’t hurt you, I suppose. Love it.

    • unfinishedrambler

      Now that I think back on it…cue flashback music from Wayne’s World (which, by the way, I think was the song you were trying to remember a few posts ago :)…it probably was not drinking enough water. Speaking of which, I need to go drink some right now.

  2. Well, I don’t what I was doing in 1998 because I missed this movie. Maybe I’m too old. Maybe I saw all the high school graduation gotta have sex movies from the 80s.

    And what’s a charley horse? Is it a big cramp? Then I say stretch it.

  3. I get them in my feet and I gently pull the foot in the opposite direction of the cramp.

    I like the tequila idea.

    Take a Prilosec and eat your bananas!

  4. I’m feeling horsy just after reading this!

    *nicker*

    And you got one on your THIGH? I don’t think I’ve ever had above the knee. Mine are always in my calves or feet.

    But I haven’t had one for a long, long time. Why? I lurve bananas.

  5. I like Joe’s suggestion though that would really hurt! 😀 I hope the charley horse stays away.

  6. Walking it off is what I always do, if it isn’t to close to the time my alarm goes off, then I’ll just try to ignore it. But I get them in my calves, you can kind of work them off while still in bed.