Actually I can stand the rain after this week

So looking back at this week, using St. Ignatius of Loyola’s Examen as a guide, I ask myself and ask you to ask yourself:

For what am I/are you least grateful this past week?

For what am I/are you most grateful this past week?

Least grateful

The heat: It’s been in the 90s (Fahrenheit for those of you in other locales) almost every day here this week, with finally rain breaking through tonight. As a result of the heat, I’ve had a lack of motivation to update here or read blogs regularly. I have been marking a lot in my feedly (which on a side note is the greatest thing I’ve discovered since…sliced bread…yep, just discovered sliced bread recently; up until now, I’ve been eating right off the loaf: in chunks) to read this weekend and hopefully I can get to them all tomorrow.

Most grateful

The rain: It’s not only bringing the temperatures down, but my hopes up that I might actually be able to get some reading done. I have quite a pile as seen earlier this month, and I hope to put a dent in this weekend. I already finished The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson, I’ll Mature When I’m Dead by Dave Barry, Two For The Money by Max Allan Collins and Mainspring by Jay Lake. I just started Drowned Hopes by Donald E. Westlake tonight,  probably will return to that after putting up this post and wouldn’t be surprised if I attempt an Agatha Christie novel or two in the next couple of days.

So how about you: For what are least grateful and most grateful this past week? Let me know in the comments.

The song (and the exact version) that inspired the title of this post:

6 responses to “Actually I can stand the rain after this week

  1. I’m grateful for the change in weather too … and being able to turn off the a/c. Love the song!

    • unfinishedrambler

      We’re hovering close today to the point where we need to turn on the a/c, but not quite there. Fan seems to be doing the job today. Glad you enjoyed this song too.

  2. I’m with you on the heat and the rain. What did you think about THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO?

    • To be honest, I quit the book several months ago because I felt it was too graphic and really didn’t need to read that kind of book.

      However, I caved to peer pressure, hearing about the third one, and decided to finish it. I’m not going to lie: It wasn’t the best book I’ve ever read, but it wasn’t the worst either and I’ll probably continue on in the series.

  3. The heat and humidity are to blame for lost productivity last week. What a way to start a new month eh ?
    I had no mood for anything – except sweat, complain and sleep !

    I am thankful for the rain – my spirits are already up and I am actually getting a bit of work done tonight – even though it is already late !

    Have a great weekend Unfinished !

    • Sometimes…like this week…I hate summer, and I’m with you on the “complain.” Hopefully this weekend will give us both less to complain about.
      You also have a good weekend.