Looking ahead to my reading in the month of July (TSS)

July 2010 ReadingThe Sunday Salon.com So above is some, if not most or all, of what I’ll be reading for this month. For what I read last month, see this post. Since then, I also have finished The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson and I’ll Mature When I’m Dead: Dave Barry’s Amazing Tales of Adulthood by Dave Barry.

The books pictured from top to bottom:

  1. My Family and Other Animals by Gerald Durrell
  2. Morality for Beautiful Girls, the third No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency mystery, by Alexander McCall Smith
  3. The Kalahari Typing School for Men, the fourth No. 1 Ladies’  Detective Agency mystery, by Alexander McCall Smith
  4. And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie
  5. The Patriotic Murders by Agatha Christie
  6. Evil Under The Sun by Agatha Christie
  7. The Courage to be Catholic: Crisis, Reform and the Future of the Church by George Weigel
  8. River of Gods by Ian McDonald
  9. The Bureau and the Mole: The Unmasking of Robert Philip Hanssen, the Most Dangerous Double Agent in FBI History by David A. Vise
  10. Die Trying by Lee Child
  11. Drowned Hopes by Donald E. Westlake
  12. Don’t Ask by Donald E. Westlake
  13. Mainspring by Jay Lake
  14. Escapement by Jay Lake
  15. Pinion by Jay Lake
  16. How The Scots Invented The Modern World: The True Story of How Western Europe’s Poorest Nation Created Our World & Everything in It by Arthur Herman
  17. The Story of Edgar Sawtelle by David Wroblewski

Of course, after I took this picture, I realized I left out three others:

  1. Backseat Saints by Joshilyn Jackson
  2. Between, Georgia also by Jackson
  3. Sad Cypress by Agatha Christie,

which brings the total to 20 for the month.

The Durrell and the Vise books were just added Friday after I was working at the library, and the Lake books were added just last weekend. The others, for the most part, already had been on my list previously. With Child, I’m reading his Jack Reacher series with this one being the second; with Westlake, his Dortmunder novels; Christie, all of her novels and Smith, the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series. Being Catholic, I thought the Weigel book looked promising and being of Scottish descent, the Herman book, of course, interested me. I picked up the Wroblewski book from the bench at our library where people drop off books for the book sale (the privileges of working at the library; when I’m done, I’ll most likely return to the bench). A friend recommended to me the work of Ian McDonald and last month I read his Brasyl, which I enjoyed, even though it was a bit difficult to get into at first.

I have no idea what I will choose to read today. To be honest, I’m a little overwhelmed after putting the pile together (or at least attempting to do so since I missed three books). I’m thinking I might tackle the Lake books today, just so when I go to my parents, I can “impress” my brother-in-law with what I’m reading. I’ll let you know next week what I chose.

So what’s on your reading radar for this month? What are you reading today?

8 responses to “Looking ahead to my reading in the month of July (TSS)

  1. Pingback: Looking ahead to my reading in the month of August (TSS) « an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. That’s a lot of books to be read in one month! You’re making me want to make my own July reading list! Good luck!

  3. I think I’m getting a sense of why you work at a library!

  4. After all this, what did I do?

    I didn’t read any of them as my brother-in-law brought me a pile of crime fiction and I read Two for the Money by Max Allan Collins, a Hard Case Crime book. So much for the best laid plans.

  5. Does THE PATRIOTIC MURDERS have an alternative title Bryan?

    • Ooops. I was in a bit of a rush yesterday morning putting this post up. Of course, it has an alternative title like so many of her works :).

      Actually it has two: One, Two, Buckle My Shoe and An Overdose of Death.

  6. I’m trying to read The Children’s Book by Byatt, but it’s like swimming through molasses. I’m not sure I’ll finish it.

    I love all the Agatha Christie reads you have set up.