Looking back at my reading in the month of June

Looking back at the month of June, I read seven books, which while not a great number is better than I’ve done the rest of this year. To date, I’ve read a (mind-numbingly low) total of 28 books, while I’ve watched a (disgracefully high) total of 43 movies thus far this year.

  1. A Slight Trick of the Mind by Mitch Cullin 3/5
  2. Good Behavior by Donald E. Westlake 4/5
  3. Born Standing Up: A Comic’s Life by Steve Martin 4/5
  4. Brasyl by Ian McDonald 4/5
  5. Easy to Kill by Agatha Christie 4/5
  6. The Beekeeper’s Apprentice by Laurie R. King 5/5
  7. Killing Floor by Lee Child 4/5

I had high hopes when the month began, and even higher hopes as the month continued, but only got to three of the 17 pictured in those two posts. That hasn’t stopped from me from aiming high as this coming month, I have a pile of 15 books on my desk (which will be revealed during this Sunday’s Sunday Salon).

Out of the seven books from June, my favorite by far was The Beekeeper’s Apprentice with probably my second favorite being the Steve Martin autobiography. I’m looking forward to continue reading the Sherlock Holmes/Mary Russell series by King as soon as I get the next one from interlibrary loan. In the meantime, I look forward to continue the Dortmunder series with Westlake as well as the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series by Alexander McCall Smith to name just a couple of other series I’m enjoying.

3 responses to “Looking back at my reading in the month of June

  1. Pingback: Looking ahead to my reading in the month of July (TSS) « an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. June was a pretty back reading month for me too! It was so bad that I didn’t bother writing down the books I read. Maybe this month will be better for us.

  3. I had a hard time getting reading done in June too. Hmmm. I hope your July reading is copious!