Pick a what?!#$*@!?

As we were going camping this weekend on Seneca Lake, one of the Finger Lakes in New York this past weekend, we passed this store in Watkins Glen. From a distance, I didn’t quite read it right and did a double take. Methinks, they should have been more careful when choosing the name of their store.

More on the trip later this week, including more photos.

27 responses to “Pick a what?!#$*@!?

  1. As part of their increasing infringement into every single aspect of our lives, the Canadian government, along with Richard Branson, introduced an ad campaign to conserve energy. It was called “Flick off” and the type face had been chosen specifically because it was so easy to make the mistake you made with that sign.

    The idea was to make it “edgy” for young people.

    My favourite comment came from Peter Kormos of the NDP. “It’s silly,” he said, “it’s embarrassing, and clearly it’s an ad agency that has a bunch of flickin’ amateurs as employees.”

  2. Pingback: and bΙΉutΙ› tu « an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  3. These comments crack me up. I bet it feels like herding cats, huh Unfinished?

    • unfinishedrambler

      Definitely, it does, but as much “grief” as Jaffer gave me, he did promote this via Tribal Blogs, so I thank him (and, oh, you too for starting it :). Of course, funny thing is this was a “throw-away” post, and is probably one of my most popular recently. Odd.

  4. Reminds me of when my sister came to town to visit. Driving down the road she started laughing about the name of a local store chain called “Pic-N-Save.” She said she immediately thought of handkerchiefs.

  5. I’m beginning to feel bad that I caught the words blurring together part… pick and flick is much kinder =0)

  6. Pick and Flick?

    Like…picking your nose and flicking the boogers?

    EEWWW. I can’t believe I even typed the word “booger” That word is banned in my house.

    I tell my kids they’re “knots”

    • unfinishedrambler

      Ugh.

      I guess I missed the pick AND flick joke within the sign.

      I’m glad you all caught it.

      πŸ™‚

  7. “Pick-A-Flick”

    I don’t get it. What’s so funny ? Must be an American kind of funny ?

    • Just consulted Urban Dict.

      BWAHAHAHAHA

      “Pick Booger from nose and flick it”

      Now I’ll be laughing all evening !

      • unfinishedrambler

        No, no, it’s that it resembles another word, if the letters in the word blur together, which from a distance they can — and did when I was looking at it. That was what made me do the double take.

        • What ? Pick a Fuck ? Puck a Fuck ? Doesn’t make any sense – Oh wait this one does: Fuck a Puck

          • unfinishedrambler

            Your subtlety is something else, Jaffer. πŸ™‚ And only a Canuck would think of doing that with a puck.

  8. You thought they sold Bic lighters.

    Sheesh.

  9. Did you get lost on the wrong side of the tracks in Watkins Glen?

  10. There’s a Pick-A-Flick out here, the lettering on the sign is some kind of 70’s retro looking stuff. Which makes it look even less like Pick-A-Flick and more like something else.

    • unfinishedrambler

      I imagine sort of like the lettering in Kill Bill with the Pussy Wagon? That would make it…well…erm…interesting.

  11. And you thought it said Pick AND Flick?

  12. “Watkin Glens”? If you can’t spell it, maybe I should go to the race in August. You may not be able to find it.

    • unfinishedrambler

      Noted and corrected…thanks for the catch. Oh, we’ll find it. Don’t you worry about that. NASCAR, baby, NASCAR!!!! Woooooo! πŸ™‚