Antisocial or social? Or compromise for camping this weekend and be both?

This weekend my wife and I are going camping with a group of people, a few she met online and has met in person, but a whole host of others, all of whom I don’t know.

So what do I plan on doing?

Yep.

Being antisocial and sticking my nose in a book.

Which book? Actually, I made a list of possibilities including the following:

I have a pile of others, which can be found here and here, with the exception of The Beekeeper’s Apprentice and Brasyl, which I’ve already read.

So which of these would you choose? Or do you recommend I be social and put down the books? Or maybe, just maybe, do a little of both: be social and antisocial? Hmmm, that might work too.

Speaking of antisocial, and apropos of nothing, here’s one of my favorite groups with a song by the same name:

11 responses to “Antisocial or social? Or compromise for camping this weekend and be both?

  1. I think you should only take one book with you and try to be social. If you’re going to be anti-social, it might just be best if you stay at home. Otherwise everyone is going to wonder why did you bother coming anyway.

    Besides you might make a few new friends. 🙂

    • I ended up taking about half a dozen books, but only ended up reading one and was partly social…it was humid so I was probably less social than I would have liked to have been. So not a total wash. 🙂

  2. At first I told him TWO BOOKS, because I thought that any more than that for Friday at 7:30pm to Monday afternoon was just insane. But I recalled all the vacations I crammed the entire LOTR set IN THEIR PROTECTIVE SLEEVE in my suitcase and I figure he should read what he wants. Except for Backseat Saints. That one is MINE.

    Don’t worry, mon petit cher, we will have fun.

  3. If I am burning up vacation days from work, then I’m doing what I want to do… read books and chew bazooka bubblegum! I’m off to the beach next week and I am taking some of the Agatha Christie’s that I have not read along with my stack of non-fiction.

    • Bazooka bubblegum…those were the days. Wait, how old are you anyway? 🙂

      I’ve opted for the Holmes over Christie and a few others, including Donald E. Westlake and Robert Jordan. Will I get to all of these? Doubtful, but like I told another commenter, I like me some choices. 🙂

  4. I vote antisocial all the way, baby!

    AND… if you must socialize take the game Boggle that way you can boggle them with your wordsmithery!

    hee hee

    • Yes, I’m going with the antisocial much to the chagrin of my wife.

      I don’t need Boggle. I’m just going to lay down some mad raps for them, old skool. That will show ’em, booooy. 😉

  5. Well you know I loved BACKSEAT SAINTS. and it woudl make you seem more accessible and approachable than the Holmes, but it depends on how you want to come across 🙂

    • Well, Marie, I will have Backseat Saints with us as my wife has started reading it, but I am taking Holmes so I can seem aloof. However, I’m also taking Donald E. Westlake, one of his Dortmunder books, Drowned Hopes, and The Eye of the World, the first of the Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan. I know I won’t get to all of them, but I like me some choices. 😉

  6. Vacations are great for reading those multi-volume sets that you just never have time for. I’d go with Sherlock Holmes.

    BTW, I don’t think there is anything wrong with being anti-social. With camping, there’s plenty of time to be social during meal times, etc. That leaves all of the daylight hours open for reading.