Up jumped the boogie

My wife says that people seem compelled (the power of Christ compels them?) to tell her all kinds of things. For example, a checkout girl at a local grocery store told her about her yeast infection without any prompting while she was in the checkout line. For me, it’s people who just walk up to me on the street and share with me their complaints.

This happened the other day as I was walking to work at the library. An elderly woman with whom I am acquainted stopped me in front of the county courthouse and began to complain about how corrupt the government is. I don’t remember her words exactly, but I know I asked her (half tongue-in-cheek and almost giving her a wink) if she thought the folks in the building in front of which we were standing were corrupt. I believe she said she did think that.

She concluded by asking me if I thought there ever would be a president in the White House who wasn’t corrupt. I didn’t have the heart of my bleeding heart to tell her that I had voted for the current man there and that in contrast to our last president, I didn’t think he was doing that bad of a job, so I just shook my head and said, “No, I really don’t think so.” And then added something superfluous like: “It’s the nature of the beast.”

“Me neither,” she answered.

She was about to continue on about Congress, the Governor and state Legislature, but I stopped her by letting her know that I really had to get to work.

I’m just glad that she didn’t talk about music, like how Kid Rock hosted the CMT Awards this year and how vulgar he and the show were:

I had to wait to hear about that a couple of days later at the senior center where I volunteer.

I couldn’t help but smile to myself as I hummed this song under my breath:

12 responses to “Up jumped the boogie

  1. Pingback: Another case of my eyes being bigger than my bookshelf (TSS) « an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. Wow! I’ve gotta get out more. People actually talk to one another? I mean, like, face-to-face?

  3. I thought this was going to be about Rapper’s Delight, I love that song.

    I can’t do Kid Rock. I see him and just want to hand him a bar of soap and a scissors.

    • unfinishedrambler

      Sorry to disappoint you, Jen. I was struggling for a title on this one and went with the first thought that came to mind.

      I’m sorry you can’t do Kid Rock. I don’t “do” Kid Rock either, though. 🙂

  4. Obviously you and your wife have open faces and generous, leaky souls. It’s when the stranger at the checkout counter suddenly starts talking to you about your own yeast infection that you realize you probably should have stayed at home.

    • unfinishedrambler

      Yeah. If I ever have anyone talk about MY yeast infection, well, then I’m out of there. 🙂

  5. Now, let me clarify. The checkout girl’s BOYFRIEND approached me and said, “Can I ask you something, as an EMT and as a woman?” I assure you, NOTHING GOOD comes after that question. After he delineated his beloved’s vag problems in detail I was certain she’d find horrifying, she clotheslined me herself in the grocery store and gave me her blow by blow of the situation in detail far surpassing any Monistat commercial.
    Thank God those two moved to Vermont.

    • I have the same problem…when my son ran his business out of our house…all the young girls…dating the landscapers…would tell me the most personal things…ie…abortions..drugs…I would try to be cool but I would come in and collapse on the couch…there is just something about us trustworthy looking people I guess

      • unfinishedrambler

        Yikes. That sounds scary…glad you survived to tell the tale. Wait, you didn’t. Tell me more. 😉

  6. I have the same problem as your wife. My friends ask me why I know so much mundane gossip about people who aren’t regularly in my life – and my only explanation? They just told me. i never understood it myself.

    Also when I worked at a Verizon store, my customers would fill be in about their lives.; sex lives, divorces, affairs, crazy children, restraining orders. It’s almost unbelievable, but sometimes I saw pictures to match. (you can read about it at my post Verizon, Shmerizon)

    • unfinishedrambler

      What is it about cell phone stores that do that? I’ve been in those too and overheard the most salacious things…it’s kind of fun, but I imagine after hearing the umpteen story, it becomes mundane.