Trying to feel alive after being under the shadow of death

So looking back at this week, through the prism of the Sleeping with Bread meme, I ask myself and ask you to ask yourself:

For what am I/are you most grateful this past week?

For what am I/are you least grateful this past week?

For what am I least grateful this past week and past few weeks?

Yes, death.

In recent weeks, I’ve had to go to a viewing for a 17-year-old girl who was killed in a car crash and a viewing and funeral for a 63-year-old neighbor. Sadly, because she wasn’t wearing a seatbelt, and the funeral home had to attempt to repair her face, she and our neighbor didn’t look much different from one another. To say that it was quite disturbing would be an understatement.

For what am I most grateful this past week and going into this week?

Life.

After the funeral of our neighbor, two other neighbors of ours announced that they were expecting their first child: the circle of life.

This week, I celebrate my 41st birthday and I’m hoping that the words to this song will be my anthem not only this week, this month and this year, but the rest of my life:

Author’s note: I know it’s Monday, but I’m behind as usual. Bear with me.

One response to “Trying to feel alive after being under the shadow of death

  1. Happy Birthday.
    I’m sorry for your losses and tragedies of late. How very sad.