Ian McDonald, Alexander McCall Smith, David Wroblewski on horizon for June (TSS)

June bookpile

The Sunday Salon.com

So above is some, if not most or all, of what I’ll be reading for this month. For what I read last month, see my previous Sunday Salon post earlier today.

The Complete Sherlock Holmes and the Sheehan book are ongoing projects, and the Dave Barry book, I’ll Mature When I’m Dead and The Courage To Be Catholic: Crisis, Failure, Reform and the Future of the Church by George Weigel are ones I’ll read somewhere amongst, or while I’m reading, the others.

The others are, with the plan to read from top to bottom:

  1. Brasyl by Ian McDonald
  2. Morality for Beautiful Girls, the third No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency mystery, by Alexander McCall Smith
  3. River of Gods by Ian McDonald
  4. The Kalahari Typing School for Men, the fourth No. 1 Ladies’  Detective Agency mystery, by Alexander McCall Smith
  5. The Story of Edgar Sawtelle by David Wroblewski
  6. Easy to Kill, a.k.a. Murder is Easy, by Agatha Christie

Joe, a friend, who now lives in South Korea, gave me both of the books by McDonald, and, John, another friend, gave me the first four No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency books by McCall Smith. My wife already has read all of the series and loved them all.

I have begun the first McDonald book and I have to say it’s odd, but in a compelling kind of way…well, after the first 50 pages. I think, though, I’m a bit out of my element as McDonald is writing about quantum physics, a subject I think my friend Joe probably understands better than I do. I guess it’s okay to stretch a little sometimes.

I also most likely will continue reading the John Dortmunder series by Donald E. Westlake in June, which I’m reading in chronological order. The series only has 14 novels and two shorter works, so I should be done by the end of the summer. The Dortmunder will be interspersed amongst the others.

I should add that I am giving myself a possible out on the Wroblewski book. If I hate it, I’ll find a replacement, still to be determined.

So what are your reading plans for this month?

5 responses to “Ian McDonald, Alexander McCall Smith, David Wroblewski on horizon for June (TSS)

  1. Pingback: Looking back at my reading in the month of June « an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. Pingback: Antisocial or social? Or compromise for camping this weekend and be both? « an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  3. I’m impressed! I’m not usually a Big Book Reader, but I have somehow found myself reading a big ol’ honker of a book, Citizens.

    And I’ve been re-reading Gone With the Wind for months. And months.

    I get so easily distracted by the new stuff out there.

  4. I can see why you call the Sheehan book and the Sherlock Holmes books ongoing projects – they’re huge!

    • The Sheehan book is something I try to read at least once a week — with keyword being “try.” The Sherlock Holmes is just something I want to continue whenever I can, because I really like them.