The humor is back on me

Written 9:30 p.m. this morning:

Shortly after writing this morning’s earlier post, where I said, “The humor was off me now,” I have had a couple of experiences where the humor was back on me: in one case, literally.

Let me explain.

First, after getting ready to go to an area-wide senior citizens picnic (I’m a volunteer), and waiting for the bus to arrive to go there, I realized that as I often do that I missed a few whiskers on the left side of my lip. It’s those few whiskers that nobody else notices, but that I do; the ones, that often I return to the house five minutes after leaving to shave off, much to the consternation of my wife. It’s just one of my self-imposed pet peeves.

Then as I am riding in the bus, I have been keeping notes in a little notebook (where I am transcribing this post) and I just happened to look down at the front of my shorts. I noticed little pen marks on them. The humor indeed was on me.

However, as I commented to one of the ladies on the bus, at least I didn’t spill liquid on the front of my shorts.

Of course, I have the rest of the day to do that.

Written this afternoon, 2 p.m. on return trip:

All is copacetic. Just left picnic. No spills and no extra pen marks on shorts.

4 responses to “The humor is back on me

  1. unfinishedrambler

    Yep. At least I had that going for me yesterday…and that was a good thing. Hey, thanks for reminding me to count my blessings…it could be worse, I could be hiking through the woods naked…ouch!

  2. At least you remembered to put on pants.

    😉

  3. It might be kinda funny if you sat on an unwrapped piece of chocolate on the bus. Did you check the back of your pants lately? It could be why folks were laughing at the seniors picnic.

    • unfinishedrambler

      Hmmm…I don’t think that’s why they were laughing at me. I think it’s because I’m a naturally funny guy…um, yeah, sure. 😉