Facebook hasn’t clubbed any baby seals, but…

After I posted a link to a story about Facebook privacy settings yesterday to one of my umpteen Facebook pages, my wife commented:

Jesus on a surfboard what sort of damage are we talking about? Facebook isn’t carcinogenic. Facebook hasn’t clubbed any baby seals. The histrionics over privacy seem a little overwrought, IMO.

I responded:

While maybe, and I mean, a big MAYBE, they haven’t clubbed any baby seals, I think they have killed dolphins in their quest to take over the tuna market. Interlocking directorates, baby, interlocking directorates.

Today, I found photographic evidence from a conference at which Zuckerberg was an attendee:
Photo of Zuckerberg: (CC) Brian Solis, www.briansolis.com and bub.blicio.us.

Photo of dolphin: Lotus Elise Blog

Quote: Directly from a press release from Zuckerberg in response to an e-mail I sent him.

8 responses to “Facebook hasn’t clubbed any baby seals, but…

  1. I’m the same way when it comes to Facebook. I don’t share my address, phone number, or other personal information with Facebook. Though it would be great if Facebook looked out for their users, but I know I need to look out for myself.

    • unfinishedrambler

      On a serious note, I think we all have to look out for ourselves on the Internet.

  2. Facebook was taking up way too much time for me – I am still there – but I’ve removed everyone off my list.
    The most I use facebook these days for is take a look at the ‘pages’ I’m a fan of like yourself, and a couple of other bloggers, websites, and applications.

    • unfinishedrambler

      Which if you’ve removed everyone means you’re not really there, you know. What’s the point? Just curious.

  3. I don’t worry about my information on Facebook, I already publish all of it over at my blog, and yet still no one finds me.

    • unfinishedrambler

      I have had a lot of identifiable information on my blog too (hometown, etc) and no one finds me either, Jen. So I know what you’re saying.

      Wait, you’re saying you have a name beyond Jen Redhead Ranting? Hmmm. I had no idea. 😉

  4. It’s kind of a big deal considering that the site is used for people to find and catch up with each other. Forgetting about the use by companies for a minute, think about this: To have your birthday, hometown, spouse’s name, etc. shown is a big deal.

    To have the full names of your children, with photos tagged is fodder for pedophiles. Updates about vacations when you’ll be out of the house, updates about a kid’s soccer game, membership in school groups–nobody thinks about this. I have a classmate who was stalked and had her home vandalized due to info she had on Facebook.

    It may seem like privacy is an illusion at this point but the kind of info we share on Facebook is not something we want floating in front of scam artists, burglars or worse.

    Sorry, u p, for getting all serious about this but I feel pretty strongly about it. I don’t trust Facebook to keep my personal info private.

    • unfinishedrambler

      I had this great, long diatribe written up in response to you, Kathleen, but my cat hit the keyboard and deleted it all. So I’ll be short this time: I don’t trust Facebook to keep my personal information private either. That’s why I don’t share personal information: birthday, address, phone number.

      However, one thing that irks me a bit about people on Facebook complaining about Facebook is that if they feel that strongly about it, then they should just leave. Personally, I’ve reconnected with people I might not otherwise have and connected with other bloggers, including yourself, that I might have otherwise, but can connect in a different medium now.