Et tu, Pu?

http://www.flickr.com/photos/buechertiger/ / CC BY 2.0

Shoot me. Shoot me now as I’ve seen everything.

“Withdrawing” books in the basement of the library where I work, I came across a copy of a book that looked like this on the  outside:

Winnie Ille Pu

and like this on its cover page:

Winnie Ille Pu Cover Page

Yes, it’s Winnie the Pooh translated in Latin. The translator was Alexandro Lenardo and while, yes, his story is poignant: see this article from The New York Times, which I found thanks to PopMatters, I still think it was a pissiare that I found this, which is why I had to bring it home with me to put on our bookshelves.

Caveat: Not only did the book and cover page look like the above photos, the book and cover page are actually pictured above.

11 responses to “Et tu, Pu?

  1. What is pissiare? I think it might be my new favorite word, but I don’t know what it means. I Googled it, but nothing came up, which means it may not exist, because if you can’t find on Google, it’s probably not even real.

    What a great story about a wierd book, though.

  2. How much do you think that’d go for on eBay? Because seriously…that’s all it might be good for.

  3. So glad you took a picture of it or I would have never believed you. 😉

    • unfinishedrambler

      Yeah, that’s what I thought too. It’s important to have photographic evidence. Of course, I could have Photoshopped those photos…hmmmm.

  4. I am hungry for some honey now. Thanks for that.

    Maybe I’ll settle for grilled Latin Pooh Bear.

    😉

    • unfinishedrambler

      Grilled Pooh? That sounds so wrong. Well, especially without the bear label.

  5. we have that, in paperback. my husband is a classics nerd & eats that stuff up with a spoon. 🙂

    • unfinishedrambler

      Other caveat: I don’t read Latin, but wanted to have on bookshelf alongside copy of Ulysses.

      More power to your husband. 🙂

  6. Better than Winnie No Pooh, a bear of very little bran.

    • unfinishedrambler

      Too true. Too true. Of course, the antithesis also is true: Better than Winnie Too Much Poo(h), a bear of a lot of bran.

    • unfinishedrambler

      I’d rather shit somewhere in the middle myself: Winnie Just Right Pooh.