Oooh, oooh, that smell, the smell of…perfume?!?

I stopped by our local library to take photos of a few articles in newspapers from 1913 for a series I’m continuing called “Old Newspapers Don’t Just Make Good Cat Litter Liner” today. While there, a woman approached the director of the library and I couldn’t help but eavesdrop as the woman asked her a question.

The question was if the director could ask the companies who send the magazines to make sure their employees didn’t wear perfume when sending the magazines, because the woman said she couldn’t stand the smell. The director politely told the woman she could make the request, but with no promises.

After the woman stepped out of the library, I couldn’t help but comment that the director as well as the other librarians hear all kinds of requests there. Another librarian commented that the woman often sniffed at the pages of magazines and books, and that one time she even ripped pages out of a magazine because she said they smelled.

Before I was leaving, the librarian also confided in me:

“She used to see people.”

I thought she meant that she used to see dead people, like in The Sixth Sense, and when I told the librarian, she just laughed and said that no, the woman used to be a psychiatrist and saw people in town.

When I told my wife later this afternoon about the woman, she said that one of her jobs when she worked at her high school library was to tear out the perfume samples from Vogue magazine. She said that the place behind the counter where the magazines were collected had smelled like “a whorehouse” before she started doing that.

I’ll end this post with a video from the Japanese pop/techno group Perfume, who else? See how much you can stomach before it becomes cloying (surprisingly, I made it 45 seconds, see if you can beat that):

This is Part X of an intermittent series called “Things You Didn’t Know About Your Local Library” that began on my previous blog, Unfinished Rambler, and that is still continuing here. Here are links to the first nine parts:

Part I
Part II

Part III

Part IV

Part V

Part VI

Part VII

Part VIII

Part IX


11 responses to “Oooh, oooh, that smell, the smell of…perfume?!?

  1. But libraries can get magazines without perfume samples–and I think all the libraries I know do. Why would any library get magazines with perfume samples in them? So many people are allergic.

  2. I’m turning the other cheek at the video.

    Yep. I passed gas. I’m so sorry to be rude on your blog.

    I hate the perfume ads as does Hubby.

    That woman really was pathetic but the library director was very nice.. She is probably blogging about her and about YOU!

    • unfinishedrambler

      You and Mike don’t know what you’re missing. As for the woman blogging, now THAT would be scary.

  3. My wife always makes rip out the perfume ads. And they do stink.

    I didn’t even make it one second with the video. I knew I’d hate it, and didn’t even press play.

    I hope I didn’t miss something.

    Damn, now I might have to go back and try it. I hate you, Unfinished Rambler!

  4. Don’t mock her. Perfume makes my head hurt…near migraines at times. Poor lady. First she gets headaches from perfume and then some dude at the library mocks her on his blog. Geesh.

  5. I made it to 45.2 seconds. The video is so bad ! The song and music – not much.

    Kinda feel sad for the woman – but at the same time that is a very odd behaviour which I haven’t seen before.

  6. I think the keyword to focus on here is that she USED to see people. Meaning, she is off her rocker now and therefore can no longer see people.

    I don’t think it’s odd for her to be so sensitive to fragrance but it’s odd for her to make such a request.

    I only lasted about 5 seconds into that video before I made the blaring noise stop. Can you not post videos like that in the future? They give me a migraine 😉

    • unfinishedrambler

      My wife thinks that perhaps those people she used to see rubbed off on her.

      As for the video, no, I’ll continue to post videos like that in the future, because that is what makes me what I am: yep, annoying. 😉