Of “saloon treating” and getting “beautifully soused”

Last Tuesday on my now defunct blog, I continued an intermittent series on “Things You Didn’t Know About Your Local Library” which now continues here, with a post in part about a 1912 news item that talked about prohibiting treating in saloons.

At the time, I had no idea what that meant. Since then, I’ve learned what “saloon treating” means. In particular pay attention to the third paragraph where “one leader of the movement”ย  goes off not just on “saloon treating,” but also on “saloon loafing.”

treating

Personally, I love the diction this leader employs, first with my mother’s favorite word for someone who drinks: “Boozer” and then continuing to “the jig’s up” and the coup de grรขce “beautifully soused,” which makes me think of something like this:

Gym Fun: Step 3

http://www.flickr.com/photos/joshuanewman/ / CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

…well, except without the tongue sticking out (unless you’re into that) and the guy on the right (unless you’re into that too).

Of further note, even the Canadian Premier thought that stopping “saloon treating would go a long way toward curing the saloon evil.”

I also love the conclusion of the omnipresent narrator who doesn’t use a byline: “It is the social drinking which creates the appetite.”

And that, of course, then leads to binge drinking, at which point you’ll have to ask yourself: “What are you doing to yourself?”

Interest Anti Binge Drinking Ad
http://www.flickr.com/photos/honeyroastd/ / CC BY 2.0

At which point I’ll have to answer: “I don’t know, baby, but I think I like it.”

This post is Part IX in an intermittent series called “Things You Didn’t Know About Your Local Library” that began on my previous blog, Unfinished Rambler, and now continues here.

Part I
Part II
Part III

Part IV

Part V

Part VI

Part VII
Part VIII

6 responses to “Of “saloon treating” and getting “beautifully soused”

  1. Pingback: Oooh, oooh, that smell, the smell of…perfume?!? « An unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. Pingback: The cure for the various troubles that a woman is heir to is simple « An unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  3. Pingback: Looking toward living the unlived life this Sunday…and, ooh, graphic novels too (TSS) « An unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  4. Um….Listen, you Boozer….put down the beer when your writing your posts! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Oh yes, blame it on Canada ๐Ÿ˜€

    One reason that prohibition failed in the United States was that even when Ontario passed the Prohibition legislation, Distilleries and Breweries were still allowed to operate.

    And they’d smuggle the goods across the lakes to the USA.

    • Sorry, we Americans like to blame it on Canada or Mexico or any other country we can. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I think I had heard about that previously. I think it was alluded to in the movie “The Untouchables.”