What I’ve Read So Far For The Agatha Christie Reading Challenge

I joined Kerrie from Mysteries in Paradise with her Agatha Christie Reading Challenge back in February of this year. I thought it would be good, since it’s close to the end of the year and I’m unlikely to read any more of Christie’s novels until after the beginning of the new year, to take a look back at…

What I’ve Read So Far

  1. The Mysterious Affair at Styles by Agatha Christie 5/5
  2. The Secret Adversary by Agatha Christie 3/5
  3. Murder on the Links by Agatha Christie 4/5
  4. The Man in The Brown Suit by Agatha Christie 3/5
  5. The Secret of Chimneys by Agatha Christie 4/5
  6. The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie 5/5
  7. The Big Four by Agatha Christie by Agatha Christie 4/5
  8. The Mystery of the Blue Train by Agatha Christie 3/5
  9. The Seven Dials Mystery by Agatha Christie 3/5
  10. The Murder at The Vicarage by Agatha Christie 5/5
  11. Murder at Hazelmoor by Agatha Christie 3/5
  12. Peril at End House by Agatha Christie 3/5
  13. Thirteen at Dinner by Agatha Christie 4/5
  14. Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie 5/5
  15. The Boomerang Clue by Agatha Christie 3/5
  16. Murder in Three Acts by Agatha Christie 4/5
  17. Death in The Air by Agatha Christie 4/5
  18. Murder In Mesopotamia by Agatha Christie 3/5
  19. Cards on the Table by Agatha Christie 4/5
  20. Poirot Loses A Client (aka Dumb Witness) by Agatha Christie 4/5
  21. Death on the Nile by Agatha Christie 3/5

My rating system:

5- Classic, must read
4- Worth owning a copy
3- Worth picking up at library
2- Worth skimming at the bookstore
1- Worth being a doorstop

I did review The Secret Adversary, but somehow copied over it with a previous review and so lost the review. As for the last one, I just haven’t had the energy to write one because to be honest, I wasn’t that thrilled with it. I thought I would be with it being one of the “classic” Christie novels, but I knew who committed the murder very early in the book, so it lost the lustre that I thought it had from when I had read it years ago.

Even though I gave it a 4 out of 5, probably my favorite out of the Christie novels I’ve read this year was The Big Four because of the international intrigue laced throughout it. It reminded me a little of the Doc Savage novels. I read many of the Kenneth Robeson/Lester Dent novels as a preteen/teen and that Christie novel had the same general feel as those, with a large conspiracy at the center of the story.

My second favorite probably would have to be Murder on the Orient Express, because even though I knew who did it (because I had read the book years ago and watched the movie), I liked the premise. I won’t tell you what it is. Otherwise, I’d give away the whole shebang, but let me just say that it’s worth it.

The ones which I rated 5 out of 5 were rated either because they were the first (Styles, obviously, and Vicarage, being the first Miss Marple) or because the story was recognized as a twist in the genre (Ackroyd).

Out of all the books, the ones I enjoy the most are those with Hercule Poirot. He is my favorite detective, with  Tommy and Tuppence being my last favorite, and Miss Marple falling somewhere in between, although definitely closer to Poirot than the Bobbsey twins (oh, wait, I mean, Tommy and Tuppence).

I’ll admit only 21 books in, I’m losing a little bit of steam. However, I’ll still persevere because I am enjoying them and seeing how Christie develops her characters, especially Poirot. One thing I can say is that her writing is getting better as she goes, so I look forward to next year reading more of her work.

I’ll leave you with a link to a video by the Russian band Agata Kristi that I first referenced in a post back in September during Agatha Christie Week celebrating Christie’s birthday:

3 responses to “What I’ve Read So Far For The Agatha Christie Reading Challenge

  1. I’ve been reading three Agatha’s every two weeks since the beginning of the summer just beause I never read any of them and the library has them all. I did not consider it a challenge.

    I do consider “The Big Four” to be one of the worst novels I’ve read so far in the series. Plot holes one can drive a truck though and a completely unbelievable “criminal conspiracy”.

    I do believe she decided to try her hand at “Pulp” fiction like the very early “Shadows”. Very contrived.