The call of Spenser and Cthulhu

Library Loot Nov 18library-loot

This is a combination of the past two weeks’ Library Loot actually. You may say, “That’s sad.” However, I have been sick with the flu (swine maybe) for the past few weeks and so haven’t been reading anything. Plus as I mentioned the last Library Loot I did at the end of October, I’m working on toward focusing on my own bookshelves rather than the library. (So there :P.) To that end, last night I did finish a book from my library, The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith, which I loved. A friend gave me and my wife the first four She’s already read all of the series (using the library for the rest), one right after another, and loved them.

So to my two pieces of loot:

  1. The Professional by Robert B. Parker: I was put on the hold list for this before it even came out, and I am a big fan of Spenser, although recently, like Connelly’s Harry Bosch series, I don’t think Parker has been up to par with them. However, if nothing else, it’s a quick read with the dialogue (my favorite part of the Spenser novels) dominating the action.
  2. Tales of H.P. Lovecraft, selected and edited by Joyce Carol Oates: Lovecraft came up after a discussion on Facebook about Neil Gaiman, who wrote a short story called “I, Cthulhu,” using Lovecraft’s Cthulhu from his short story, “The Call of Cthulhu.” So I decided to find some Lovecraft at the library and this is all that was on the shelf, but it included “The Call of Cthulhu.”

I also was semi-familiar with the name Cthulhu anyway as I’m a fan of Metallica, who had the song “Call of Ktulu” on their album, Ride The Lightning, because they became fans through late bass guitarist Cliff Burton. Appropriately, I’ll end with that song:

This post also can be found on my main blog, Just A (Reading) Fool.

5 responses to “The call of Spenser and Cthulhu

  1. An ex-boyfriend a couple years back did do one good literary thing for me- he introduced me to the Spencer novels. I have only read one so far but I loved it and look forward to reading more. I hope this one is as enjoyable for you!

    I hope you feel better soon!

    • I’ll be honest, I think Parker’s Spenser, like Michael Connelly’s Harry Bosch, has gone as far as he can go as a character. It’s time to retire both of them. Each had good runs, especially in their middle years. Spenser was on a roll for a while, I thought, but has just petered out; same with Bosch. Or my tastes in reading are changing and I’m being influenced by reading the classics like Agatha Christie.

  2. I’m sorry you’ve been sick but those are awesome books. I hope you enjoy them! 🙂

  3. I’m sorry you’ve been sick with the flu. :/ Both of your books this week have great covers! And I need to read some Lovecraft too.

  4. Oh, I’ve been meaning to read something by Lovecraft for ages, but I keep never getting around to it. I hope you enjoy your loot!