The Day I Jumped To The Wrong Conclusions On My Jump To Conclusions Mat

Ever have a day when you jump to the wrong conclusions on the Jump To Conclusions Mat? I have.

Exhibit 1:

7:30 a.m. Sunday morning my wife’s cell phone rings.

We’re still in bed.

“Who is it?”

“I don’t know…”

She reaches for, and picks up, the phone off floor by bed where she leaves it to charge.

Looks at me oddly.

“It’s you.”

Huh?

A couple of thoughts went through my head within a split second:

1. I left my cell phone at the men’s chorus concert Saturday night, it was found by one of the other members of the chorus and he called me to let me know he had it.

2. My phone was stolen. The perpetrator accidentally called my wife’s number, or worse, as said wife would mention a few minutes later, called her to taunt me.

“Neener, neener, neener, I have your phone.”

OR…

It dawned on me.

Our cat Seamus had stepped on my cell while it was left on the couch..

“It’s Seamus.”

…which when I went to look, I discovered that’s who had called her.

Later, I learned I wasn’t the only one who jumped to conclusions.

She told me later:

“When you said, ‘It’s Seamus,’ I almost said, ‘Seamus, hang up the phone.'”

If only it were a phone with a cradle.

Humor-Blogs.com

Humor Bloggers

BlogStorm

Comments are closed.