Feel burnt-out by blogging sometimes? You are not alone

Since this week’s Weekly Geeks topic was my own, I suppose (eyes rolling) that I ought to respond to it. So without further adieu:

The topic in short (for my lengthy explanation, see this week’s Weekly Geeks post) was whether or not after a week like last week with Book Blogger Appreciation Week, do you feel burnt out? If so, why? If not, why not? Secondarily, why do you blog?

Last week in addition to BBAW, I also participated in Agatha Christie Week activities over at Mysteries in Paradise and had my own challenge to read an Agatha Christie book per day, followed by a review. I read six out of eight planned books and reviewed four books during the week, plus two yesterday. As a result, I only posted a minimal amount of BBAW-related posts.  However, by the end of the week, because of Agatha Christie Week, and my own self-imposed goals, I did feel burnt out.

A few months ago, I decided to revamp my blogs (for a listing of other blogs I maintain, see here) to post mainly only three times a week on my main blog, an unfinished person (in an unfinished universe), with crosspostings with my other blogs on certain days of the week. The reason I did that was simple: to cut back on the pressure to blog daily for each of the five blogs I have. For the most part, it has worked until last week when Agatha Christie Week, combined with BBAW, threw me off that schedule.

Do I regret it? No. However, it will make me rethink weeks like the two activities mentioned in the future. I probably won’t participate in weeks like them, with daily posts, in the future. I have enough of a time, committing to three posts on my main blog, which in turn are cross-posted at the other three blogs, including this one. Plus I have another blog, Unfinished Rambler, on which I ramble about whatever and now that I have done away with themed days there, whenever. (For a sample of a silly post, and also in this case a book-related one, see this post from yesterday about my finding a library book I thought was lost.)

All of which brings me to why do I blog anyway?  For me, and I don’t mean to be funny or sound like the Blues Brothers, although this is how it is going to sound anyway, but I feel like I’m on a mission from God.

Yes, I’ve seen the light, and the mission I’ve been given: to share the journey of an unfinished person in all his facets, body, mind and soul, mainly through my main blog, an unfinished person (in an unfinished universe), and through Unfinished Rambler, just to have fun, and not be so “mission”-oriented.

Why share this journey? Because all of us are on this journey and none of us are finished people, no matter how much we may claim to be finished, until our final breath is drawn. Maybe I can encourage you in your own journey, in your struggles with diet and exercise, reading and devotions, by showing you that you are not alone…

…because as the song in the musical “Into the Woods” says:

4 responses to “Feel burnt-out by blogging sometimes? You are not alone

  1. I don’t think you should ever have to blog if you don’t feel like it – thus preventing the burnout. Besides, there’s a whole big world out there just waiting to be experienced.

    In any event, happy blogging and – nice links!

  2. Pingback: Feel burnt-out by blogging sometimes? You are not alone. « An unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  3. I definitely get burnt out sometimes but I just remember that I’m ultimately blogging for me (sounds self-ish I know). It’s an outlet for me to blab and chat and I don’t want to take it to seriously or get stressed. By the way, I love that you included the Into the Woods clip. I found a copy at the library and rented it and thought it was just too funny. I love Bernadette Peters in it.

    • Oh, don’t get me wrong. I have all these high, lofty ideals, but I also blog for me too. However, in the end, I hope there’s a larger reason than just me, me, me. The thing is I do take it seriously, sometimes too seriously, even in my explanation of it. I’m still having fun, though.

      “Into the Woods” is one of my favorite musicals. I saw it on PBS years ago and have been in love with it ever since.