Me and my reading habits

I’m not one for all kinds of memes. In fact, I mainly only participate in two from time to time: Weekly Geeks and The Sunday Salon. However, I’m going to make an exception for this one in honor of Book Blogger Appreciation Week (click on button for more information about the week, Sept. 14-18). Mainly, I needed a short respite in my marathon reading of Agatha Christie novels in honor of Agatha Christie Week (Sept. 13-20) and before I have to write up a post for Kerrie’s Agatha Christie Week Blog Tour (still coming later today, I haven’t forgotten, Kerrie). In the meantime, a quick meme:

Do you snack while you read?
No, not usually.

Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you?
I don’t mark books (usually because lately they’ve been from the library) but sometimes do take notes if it is something I want to include in a review, at least of the page number.

How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog-ears? Laying the book flat open?
Answers in order: I don’t. I try to remember where I left off and if I don’t, it makes it fun to find where I left off and also refreshes my memory on story if I don’t remember exactly. Last three questions: no, no and definitely no, don’t want to break the spine.

Fiction, Non-fiction, or both?
Mostly fiction. Occasionally non-fiction, but not recently.

Hard copy or audiobooks?
Hard copy. Tried an audiobook within the last few months and hated it. Took too long to get to the point. I’d rather read it for myself.

Are you a person who tends to read to the end of chapters, or are you able to put a book down at any point
Usually any point, except when in bed with wife right before going to sleep. Then I insist on reading to end of chapter, for some reason ;).

If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop to look it up right away?
Nope. Sometimes in the case of Hercule Poirot speaking in French, I let it slide. In reading Sherlock Holmes stories recently, I’ve been reading an Oxford edition which has explanatory notes and sometimes I’ve referred to them, if it’s something I really want to understand.

What are you currently reading?
Getting ready to read The A.B.C. Murders by Agatha Christie.

What is the last book you bought?
Either Lost in A Good Book or The Well of Lost Souls, both by Jasper Fforde. As I bought them at same time, I don’t know which one showed up last on the receipt.

Are you the type of person that only reads one book at a time or can you read more than one at a time?
Usually one, but can read more than once. Right now, I have three going, but am focusing on Agatha Christie in honor of Agatha Christie Week.

Do you have a favorite time of day and/or place to read?
Nope. Any time. Morning, evening. I read in my sleep sometimes, especially this week on my Agatha Christie reading marathon.

Do you prefer series books or stand alone books?
Series, series, series. I’m addicted to Michael Connelly’s Harry Bosch series and when I read series, I must read them in order. I am completely obsessive about that.

Is there a specific book or author that you find yourself recommending over and over?
Agatha Christie, Agatha Christie, Agatha Christie. Really, you had to ask this week of all weeks.

How do you organize your books? (By genre, title, author’s last name, etc.?)
Genre. I’d love to do the others, but I think my wife would hate me. I wanted to organize our CD collection alphabetically and she almost screamed.

3 responses to “Me and my reading habits

  1. Pingback: The Week In Review: Remembering Agatha Christie and appreciating book bloggers « An unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. Pingback: The Week In Review: Remembering Agatha Christie and appreciating book bloggers « Unfinished Person

  3. Lest we mislead your readers, you DID alphabetize the CD collection, stacking all 800 some of them all over the living room, then you put them away, but not with ‘shelf space’ between the pages, so they ended up shoved in every which way, then we tried the genre thing, but that too fell to lazy reshelving. Now we resort to ‘pray and flip’, XM Radio, or your Blipping.