Murder, murder, murder, more murder; then a comedy (TSS)

The Sunday Salon.comSo after more than a week hiatus because of computer being in shop, (the computer and) I am (are) back and am going to start with a series of Sunday Salon posts.

In this first post, I’m going to give a quick overview of what I’ve been reading and what movies I’ve been watching, which one would think in a week would be a lot, but really isn’t.

  • Finished Above Suspicion by Lynda La Plante, the first of a series about Detective Inspector Anna Travis by the screenwriter of the Prime Suspect series.
  • Started The Red Dahlia by Lynda La Plante, yes, you guessed it, the second of the series.
  • Continued reading The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle as part of the Baker Street Reading Challenge.
  • Watched the movies Murder on the Orient Express, Charlie Wilson’s War, Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy and The Duchess with my wife, all of which I liked except  The Duchess, because I thought her choices, even though they were for the time, were awful. Out of the four, for pure fun, I recommend, of course Anchorman. However, be forewarned, it completely falls apart at one point, but if you just go with it, it’s still a lot of fun. It somewhat reminded me of Hancock, in that that movie fell apart too at a certain point, but unlike Hancock, Anchorman, at least, kept its same tone and didn’t lose me completely.