This week’s Library Loot: Shock of shocks, more Christie and Doyle

Library Loot 09 02 09library-loot
Today’s load of Library Loot (an activity sponsored by Eva and Marg) includes, shock of shocks, more Agatha Christie and Arthur Conan Doyle.

The Christie books are:

  1. The Boomerang Clue (aka Why Didn’t They Ask Evans?)
  2. Murder in Three Acts (aka Three Act Tragedy)
  3. Death in the Air (aka Death in the Clouds)
  4. Murder in Mesopotomia

In case, this is your first time here, I have joined Kerrie from Mysteries in Paradise with her Agatha Christie Reading Challenge and I am reading Christie’s novels in order. I had to order through interlibrary loan The A.B.C. Murders, which fits between Death in the Air and Murder in Mesopotomia. All, except The Boomerang Clue, feature Hercule Poirot.

The Doyle book is The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes and is the next one I’m reading as part of the Baker Street Challenge. It is a collection of short stories that originally were published in the magazine The Strand

14 responses to “This week’s Library Loot: Shock of shocks, more Christie and Doyle

  1. Do you not just LOVE the hardback editions of those Agatha Christie books? One of the libraries in my area carries these and I can never resist checking one out whenever I am there ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. You’re making me want to grab some Christies too! I’ve read all of the Miss Marples, and a fair amount of the Poirot and random ones. But I don’t think I’ve read the Three-Act Murder yet.

  3. Thanks for the warm welcome to Library Loot! I want to read more Agatha Christie (I’ve just recently rediscovered her) and what better place to get her books than the library? The only issue for me is that I already have so many books to read that I don’t really need to go to the library…

  4. I have to admit that the closest I’ve come to reading Agatha Christie is watching the TV series Poirot. I’m guessing that doesn’t quite count as reading!

  5. I’m going to look for the Sherlock Holmes one! I love short story collections.

  6. I haven’t read any Agatha Christie but know they are classics and need to check them out. Sherlock Holmes? I’ve read everything I could get my hands on. Love them!

    • No problem about not realizing that this was moderated. It’s just for first-time visitors…

      …Christie’s books are very quick reads. Any Poirot book is a good place to start, in my humble opinion.

      I just read your brother(?)’s review of The Absolutely True Diary of A Part-Time Indian and put a link at the bottom of my review of the book from last year. I’m just beginning to discover the “teen book bloggers,” and I love your enthusiasm for books. Maybe there is hope for the world after all. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. I’ve offered Tai the space to write it but he’s not interested. I try to solicit his opinion but often he’s not home when I write up my blog posts. It’ll even out now that he’s back to work.
    I’ve got my first Agatha Christie book on my Filling In the Gaps Challenge list. I’ll get to it some day!
    Great loot.

    • I was just picking on you about Tai. ๐Ÿ˜‰ As for Agatha Christie, are you just saying that you’ll get to it someday to be nice? I’ve seen your type before, you know. Actually I’ve commented the same way. ๐Ÿ™‚