Books I keep nearby me

Books I keep nearby me 1
Books I keep nearby me 2
Above are photos of book that I keep nearby me, at almost all times, well, at least within the last few months.

In the top photo are books I keep on my desk. From bottom to top are:

  1. The Catholic Bible: Personal Study Edition
  2. Dr. George Sheehan on Getting Fit and Feeling Great: Three Volumes In One: How To Feel Great 24 Hours A Day, Running and Being, This Running Life by George A. Sheehan, M.D.
  3. Good To Great In God’s Eyes: Ten Practices Great Christians Have In Common by Chip Ingram

In the bottom photo are books I keep (ahem) in the bathroom. From bottom to top are:

  1. The Psalms: A New Translation: Singing Version
  2. Uncle’s John’s Bathroom Reader: Plunging Into Music
  3. Uncle’s John Unsinkable Bathroom: The 21st Edition

The Bible, I think, that’s pretty self-explanatory, isn’t it? Well if not, I’m a Catholic Christian and so always think it good to have a Bible around. I did have a cover on it, but the cat liked it so much that it became covered with cat hair, so I just left it without the cover.

I picked up the George Sheehan after a now-deceased friend (ex-high school cross country coach) “put me” on to it over five years ago. For more on Sheehan (also deceased), visit his site.

I bought a copy of the Chip Ingramย  book after listening to one of his broadcasts from his show, Living On The Edge.

The Psalms I got out of solidarity with the brothers at Mount Saviour Monastery where I am an oblate. However, I don’t sing them (whew) because I don’t read music. I belong to a men’s chorus and have a general idea of the notes going up and down, but to start on my own. Nyuh.

Normally, I also keep one volume of The Liturgy of the Hours in the bathroom too, but left the latest volume recently at my parents, so it couldn’t be in the photo. I try to read Morning and Evening Prayers, although not always in the bathroom. It’s just that I keep it there to remind me when I get up in the morning and go to bed at night.

As for the Uncle John’s, a blogging friend of me and my wife, Kathy Frederick of The Junk Drawer gave us these two, and for which we are most appreciative. If you’ve never seen them, I encourage you to check out the site.

So all this said, what books do you keep nearby you?

8 responses to “Books I keep nearby me

  1. Laughin’ at Jaffer’s comment about books of God in the bathroom. Hey, at least you know you’ll have complete, uninterrupted reading. At least I hope so.

    In my vicinity, I have:

    Cabin Pressure, story about a guy who went back to be a camp instructor at the camp he visited in his youth every summer.

    Ray Bradbury’s Zen in the the Art of Writing

    Mark Kurlansky’s “Salt” I know, sounds boring, but it’s not.

    Writing Without Teachers (teaching me to write every day, even if it’s nonsensical)

    Daid Weinberger’s “Everything is Miscellaneous” A book about how we get and process information, digital and otherwise.

    • Cabin Pressure: Wasn’t that that movie with Chris Elliott? The one in which David Letterman made a cameo? ๐Ÿ˜‰

      The Bradbury book is the only one of which I’ve heard, but Salt actually sounds good. Have you ever read John McPhee? You’d probably like his works. He sounds similar to Kurlansky.

  2. I didn’t know you were catholic. Well, now I know !

    I can’t help but ask, why would you keep books of God in the bathroom ?

    I had a Legendary Lost Bathroom Reader some years ago – but became really lost when my store-room was broken into and cleaned out ! I lost a lot of stuff then !

    • Jaffer: I keep the books there because it’s one of the first places to which I come in the morning. It’s not because of any “a-ha” moments that I get while I’m in there, although that happens too. ๐Ÿ˜‰ …As for the Bathroom Reader, Kathy’s really big on them. She probably has all of them and if you asked nicely, I bet she’d give you a copy. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yes, I do have most of them. In fact, I bought a duplicate once (unknowingly). I really need to catalog them so I don’t make that mistake again. And, yes, I keep them in the bathroom.

      • “HEY KATHY ! YOU MISSED MY BIRTHDAY … CAN I HAVE ONE OF YOUR UNCLE JOHN’S”

        LOL ! I guess that was asking nicely ! ๐Ÿ˜€

        P.S. I’m only kidding.

  3. I’m honored you have the books I gave you so close to The Psalms.

    I have so many books near me, but they’re unread. Well, half-read. Since I started blogging, I don’t leave any time for reading completely and uninterrupted. Sad, I know. All of my books are non-fiction, if that means anything. I’m not a novel person, I suppose. Though the book I’ve begun writing will be novelistic. In a way. I know, clear as mud.

    • I figure you have to have that balance in your life, you know? The Psalms and Uncle John’s, the ying and the yang, the tweedle dee and tweedle dum? Well, anyway, you know what I mean, right?

      So what are a few of the non-fiction books you have on your shelf? Anything that might be worth my (or others) checking out?