Books I keep nearby me, from the Bible to Uncle John’s Bathroom Reader

Books I keep nearby me 1
Books I keep nearby me 2
Above are photos of book that I keep nearby me, at almost all times, well, at least within the last few months.

In the top photo are books I keep on my desk. From bottom to top are:

  1. The Catholic Bible: Personal Study Edition
  2. Dr. George Sheehan on Getting Fit and Feeling Great: Three Volumes In One: How To Feel Great 24 Hours A Day, Running and Being, This Running Life by George A. Sheehan, M.D.
  3. Good To Great In God’s Eyes: Ten Practices Great Christians Have In Common by Chip Ingram

In the bottom photo are books I keep (ahem) in the bathroom. From bottom to top are:

  1. The Psalms: A New Translation: Singing Version
  2. Uncle’s John’s Bathroom Reader: Plunging Into Music
  3. Uncle’s John Unsinkable Bathroom: The 21st Edition

The Bible, I think, that’s pretty self-explanatory, isn’t it? Well if not, I’m a Catholic Christian and so always think it good to have a Bible around. I did have a cover on it, but the cat liked it so much that it became covered with cat hair, so I just left it without the cover.

I picked up the George Sheehan after a now-deceased friend (ex-high school cross country coach) “put me” on to it over five years ago. For more on Sheehan (also deceased), visit his site.

I bought a copy of the Chip Ingram book after listening to one of his broadcasts from his show, Living On The Edge.

The Psalms I got out of solidarity with the brothers at Mount Saviour Monastery where I am an oblate. However, I don’t sing them (whew) because I don’t read music. I belong to a men’s chorus and have a general idea of the notes going up and down, but to start on my own. Nyuh.

Normally, I also keep one volume of The Liturgy of the Hours in the bathroom too, but left the latest volume recently at my parents, so it couldn’t be in the photo. I try to read Morning and Evening Prayers, although not always in the bathroom. It’s just that I keep it there to remind me when I get up in the morning and go to bed at night.

As for the Uncle John’s, a blogging friend of me and my wife, Kathy Frederick of The Junk Drawer gave us these two, and for which we are most appreciative. If you’ve never seen them, I encourage you to check out the site.

So all this said, what books do you keep nearby you?

One response to “Books I keep nearby me, from the Bible to Uncle John’s Bathroom Reader

  1. Check it out: I have given you an award!