From 100 percent dissolution to 7 percent solution

Today begins the dissolution of the themed days here at Unfinished Rambler. No more Meandering Monday, WTF Wordless Wednesday and Flashback Friday. Instead, I’m going to ramble just as I did when I first started this blog…

…in doing this, I hope to be able to reflect myself more honestly than I have been and that also this blog will serve more of a counterpoint to my more serious blog, an unfinished person (in an unfinished universe), where I have themed days. Order and disorder: the two flip sides of the coin. Or, to put it another way, an Ouroboros, in that I’m constantly recreating myself here as the process is never finished.

Ouroboros

So to that end, here goes some observations apropos of no themes, just more rambling:

Friday: While at the state store (here in Pennsylvania, the state controls the sales of wines and liquors) in our town, I overheard something I had never heard previously in a state store:

“So do you have cigarettes and beer?”

The answer, of course, was no as the state store only sells wine and liquors and the obvious to anyone looking around the store, that no beer or cigarettes were in the building. I thought this was a little bit of an odd question myself, so when I got to the counter with my purchase (not for myself, Mom and Dad, of course, but for a friend), I asked the employee there:

“What planet are they from?”

The silly question fairy must have been hovering over the town that day because when I went to Subway later, I heard this from a customer there:

“So do you have any specials?”

I could have asked the same question about this customer as I had of the other one at the state store.

Evidently, upon walking to the store, the person didn’t see the signs not only on the windows of the store, but on the door as they walked into the store.

The person must not have television either where these annoying commercials can be seen all the time (click at your own risk):

Saturday: I received in the mail a letter from Nationwide that said “You’re pre-forgiven.” “When you come to Nationwide Insurance, you can be forgiven before anything ever happens,” the letter read.

Ironically, I saw this just after I had gone to the Sacrament of Reconciliation (confession) at our church. It got me to thinking that maybe I don’t need confession after all, since Nationwide says that I’m pre-forgiven. I can believe them, right? After all, they are on my side.

Sunday: After writing on my main blog about how I felt a twinge of conscience in reading a book that I didn’t need to be reading for my spiritual well-being, I then picked up a book that began with the lead character doing this:

[X] took his bottle from the corner of the mantelpiece, and his hypodermic syringe from its neat morocco case. With his long, white, nervous fingers he adjusted the delicate needle and rolled back his left shirt-cuff. For some little time, his eyes rested thoughtfully upon the sinewy forearm and wrist, all dotted and scarred with innumerable puncture-marks. Finally, he thrust the sharp point home, pressed down the tiny piston, and sank back into the velvet-lined arm chair with a long sigh of satisfaction.

Yep, a drug-user and a drug-pusher as he reveals at the bottom of the first page:

“It is cocaine,” he said, “a seven-percent solution. Would you care to try it?”

I had to laugh.

Did I stop reading the book? No.

The lead character is Sherlock Holmes; the story, The Sign of the Four, and so far, the rest of the story has nothing to do with cocaine, although I’m expecting by the end, he is going to shoot his woman down. However, knowing him, he’d have a good answer for the sheriff from Jericho Hill and the judge as well as to why it couldn’t have been him who shot “that bad bitch down.”

Humor-Blogs.com

Humor Bloggers

BlogStorm

Comments are closed.