This week’s Library Loot: File under D for Dresden

Library Loot Aug. 26library-lootToday’s load of Library Loot (an activity sponsored by Eva and Marg) was a small batch since I still have so many left to read, including The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larrson, which I’m in the middle of.

The ones retread this week was Killer Weekend by Ridley Pearson, which is the first of a three-part series. I hope to be able to get to it this weekend.

I also picked up three new ones:

  1. Above Suspicion by Lynda La Plante the first of a series about Detective Inspector Anna Travis
  2. Storm Front: Book One of The Dresden Files by Jim Butcher
  3. Fool Moon: Book Two of The Dresden Files by Jim Butcher.

I saw the latest Dresden Files book, Turn Coat, on the new book shelf and realized I never had read the series, but always wanted to read it. So, of course, being the stickler that I had to begin with the first one.

La Plante wrote the Prime Suspect series. I came across the Anna Travis series last week. Unfortunately, our library has the second, third and fourth books of the series, but not the first, so I had to go to interlibrary loan to get it. Interestingly, I got it from a former library I used to frequent, the Chester County Library in Chester County, Pa.

8 responses to “This week’s Library Loot: File under D for Dresden

  1. I’ve never read Butcher but I think I may be missing out on something!! Great loot there!!

  2. Hmm there seems to be a lot of bloggers who’ve read or are about to read the Dresden Files. Guess I should check them out!

  3. I thought the first Dresden book was a bit average but everything I have read since then has been a lot of fun.

    Enjoy your loot!

  4. I loved the Prime Suspect series and when I saw the series at the library, I couldn’t resist.

  5. Above Suspicion sounds really interesting! The other two look a bit hard boiled for me. 😉 I’m a total wimp when it comes to my mysteries. (And thank you for the lovely welcome back on my blog.)

  6. I’m not sure he’s for me either, but I’m willing to give him a try. For some reason, the books “spoke” to me today. 🙂

  7. I do hear good things about Butcher, not perhaps for me, still would be great to try him out