Midweek Review: From Killer Weekend to Killing Castro

Library Loot 08 19 09

library-loot

Today’s load of Library Loot (an activity sponsored by Eva and Marg) includes a few leftovers and a few new ones. All the movies are new, but some of the books I might have mentioned in previous Library Loot posts.

I also forgot to put in the photo one of the leftovers, which is an American Library collection of Edgar Allan Poe stories that I primarily picked up for one reason: the short story, “The Murders in the Rue Morgue.” It is considered by many to be the first detective story and seems to fit in with my reading of Agatha Christie and also Arthur Conan Doyle.

The rest of the loot, pictured above, from top left to bottom right, are:

I also put a request for two books from interlibrary loan. The first, Faceless Killers, is by another Swedish author, Henning Mankell whom I found also through a blogger, tanabata.

The second is one I just came across while browsing new books. Our library has a habit of getting the second and third in a series and not the first one. Here is yet another case. This time it’s Lynda La Plante’s Above Suspicion, the first of a series about Detective Inspector Anna Travis. I was intrigued by the cover, if for nothing else that La Plante wrote the scripts for the Prime Suspect series.

If you’ve never seen the series, I’ll leave you with a link to a trailer from Prime Suspect 2, one of my favorites.

6 responses to “Midweek Review: From Killer Weekend to Killing Castro

  1. I’ve not read any of your Library Loot, but I know that the Girl With The Dragon Tattoo is selling very well.

    Have you seen the Wallander TV shows? I think that PBS was running them a while back. Again, I haven’t read any of them, but I know his books are popular (and my Dad likes them).

    • Wallander TV shows? Oh, no! I have to read the books first and then I’ll get to the series. That’s just the way I am (or at least try to be, with some exceptions, Inspector Morse being most notable).

      Oh, and thank you for returning the favor and stopping by here too. 🙂

  2. It really drives me crazy when my library gets parts of series!

    I was very excited to see that the third book in the Larsson trilogy is soon to be released in Australia. I think the second book has only just been released in the US, but we got that one last year. I have no idea why there is such a delay from one country to another.

    • Thanks (a lot 😉 for telling me about that third one coming out and I’ll have to wait. I’m beginning to zoom through the first one and already can’t wait for the third one. I don’t understand the lapses either. Argh!!!!

  3. We saw Doubt a couple weeks or so ago. It was better than I expected; a pretty good movie, I thought.