Tuesday’s Meme Things: The allure of crime in any language

I participate each Tuesday in book blogging meme activities:

tuesdaywhereareyou First up, It’s Tuesday … Where are You as hosted by raidergirl3:

Today, I’m playing second fiddle to the world’s greatest detective, Hercule Poirot, as he attempts to find the murderer of George Alfred St. Vincent Marsh, fourth Baron Edgware (Thirteen at Dinner by Agatha Christie).

*****

teasertuesdays3 Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading, with the rules pretty simple: Grab your current read, open to a random page, share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page, BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!), and then share the author too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers! (I confess that this isn’t random this week as I picked out a couple of sentences that really struck me as I was reading.)

The lovely Lady Edgware she does not know history or geography, or the classics sans doute. The name of Lao Tse would suggest to her a prize Pekingese dog, the name of Moliere a maison de coutere.

*****

library-lootfriday-finds

Next up, I’m doing together both Library Loot hosted by Eva and Marg and Friday Finds also hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. The first focuses on books that you’ve checked out from the library; the second, books that you’ve come across that you want to read.

The author whose book this time again that I picked up from the library is Michael Connelly; the book, The Brass Verdict:

The book is Connelly’s 14th in the Harry Bosch series and also has the character of Mickey Haller who was featured first in The Lincoln Lawyer. In October, Connelly will release the 15th in the Bosch series: Nine Dragons.

For this week’s Friday Finds, I actually found two authors through bloggers, one from The Sunday Salon, the other from the It’s Tuesday Where Are You? group.

In each case, the two books mentioned are the second in a series by that author, meaning the stickler I am for reading a series in order, I will have to go back and find the first one in each case.

The first book and author I encountered, thanks to brenzi0408, was:

The second book and author I encountered, thanks to tanabata, was:

Both coincidentally are Swedish novelists, with Larsson having passed away in 2004 from a heart attack and Mankell still alive and kicking as of this post.

The Larsson book also is being made into a movie due out in September. Click here for a trailer.

I already have checked our local library for a copy of the first Larsson book and while they have the second one, they don’t seem to have the first one. As for Mankell, I only found one copy on interlibrary loan. I have a feeling that it might be a while before I get to these.

*****

Last but not least is this week’s Weekly Geeks, with this week’s idea at least partially coming from Bookworm Kristen. The other part is from Chris of book-a-rama. To read both parts, visit the post here.

Because I’ve already taken up a lot of space here with the other meme-related activities, I’m going to stick with the first part, which to paraphrase is why do I keep reading about the same detectives? For me, the two that most readily come to mind are Harry Bosch and Hercule Poirot.

For me, it’s simple: I like to see the development of the character. For example, in the case of Bosch, we learn of his back story as a soldier in Vietnam right from the start in the first novel and then later learn of his loves, from an ex-FBI agent for a wife to a current FBI agent for an on- and off-again lover. In Poirot’s case, it’s not only the development of the character, but his constant sense of  humor and the prism through which he looks at the world. I guess sometimes I wish I had the intuitiveness that he has.

7 responses to “Tuesday’s Meme Things: The allure of crime in any language

  1. tieg Larsson, he is sure loved here, and everyone has watched the movie…well except for me. But those 3 books are sure the most popular in the library

  2. Didn’t you have a Michael Connelly book last week for Library Loot as well! You must really enjoy his writing!

    Speaking of enjoying writing, I really liked The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and hope you do too!

  3. I think I have read most of Agatha Christie books.

    Now my niece is enjoying my collection.

    Weekly Geeks: Mystery Reading

  4. Unfortunately there are many instances in my life just like the ‘Lao Tse’ moment…it’s funny, but also sad…
    Great teaser!
    You can check out mine here.

  5. Ha! Great teaser this week! You can check out my teaser here.

  6. Sounds very interesting. Here is mine

  7. I like reading Agatha Christie. I am here