Tuesday’s Meme Things: Riding around L.A. in a Lincoln with the tunes cranked up

I participate each Tuesday in book blogging meme activities:

tuesdaywhereareyou First up, It’s Tuesday … Where are You as hosted by raidergirl3:

Today, I’m a defense lawyer in a Lincoln on the streets of L.A. on what I hope is “the franchise case” for me and I’m still tracking down the world’s Third Most Wanted Criminal.  In the first case, my name is Mickey Haller (in The Lincoln Lawyer by Michael Connelly). In the second case, my name is Thursday Next and the world’s Third Most Wanted Criminal is Archeron Hades and is about to pluck Jane Eyre from the pages of her novel in The Eyre Affair (Jasper Fforde).

*****

teasertuesdays3 Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading, with the rules pretty simple: Grab your current read, open to a random page, share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page, BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!), and then share the author too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

I went to Four Green Fields and ordered a Guinness but quickly escalated to vodka over ice. I didn’t think there was any sense in delaying things.

*****

library-lootfriday-finds

Next up, I’m combining Library Loot hosted by Eva and Marg and Friday Finds also hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. The first focuses on books that you’ve checked out from the library; the second, books that you’ve come across that you want to read.

The author this time again is Michael Connelly; the book, the aforementioned The Lincoln Lawyer:

The book is the Connelly’s 16th and, though not part of the Harry Bosch series, he was in one of the Bosch novels earlier, The Black Ice, and will be in the next one, the 14th in the series:  The Brass Verdict, so I thought it good to be acquainted with the main character of Mickey Haller. In October, Connelly will release the 15th in the Bosch series: Nine Dragons.

*****

Last but not least is this week’s Weekly Geeks, which is posted by Ashley from Complete and Unabridged.

Your challenge this week is to come up with at least one song-book match. It could remind you of a theme from the book, a specific part of the plot, or even one of the characters (a sort of theme song, if you will). Be sure to include samples of the lyrics and the reason why that song reminds you of that book. If you can provide a link to a recording of the song so that other geeks can hear it that would be great as well. (One good place to look for links is last.fm, there are others, too.)

I sort of cheated on this one as I looked through titles of books I read last year and then saw which ones might remind me of songs.

First, up The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Emmuska Orczy. I thought of Chris DeBurgh’s “Lady in Red,” because of who was behind The Scarlet Pimpernel. However, then surfing Youtube for a Scarlet Pimpernel song, I came across this classic Blackadder clip:

Next, World War Z by Max Brooks, which naturally reminded me of The Hooters’ “All You Zombies.”

While searching for a song to go with The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven by Sherman Alexie, I came across this strange ditty:

To end on a somewhat classier note, here’s a two-fer to go with The Mystery of the Blue Train by Agatha Christie:

First, Johnny Cash w/ “Blue Train”:

And then John Coltrane w/ “Blue Train”:

Okay, actually one last one to go along with the book I’m currently reading:

10 responses to “Tuesday’s Meme Things: Riding around L.A. in a Lincoln with the tunes cranked up

  1. I love Jasper Fforde’s books!

    Thanks for playing along with Library Loot!

  2. Lol, yes I am strange. I really should see if Connelly is up there with Grisham for me. I saw they had his newest book and said it was better than Grisham. But, I don’t know I just like Grisham’s style, can’t say I would like Connelly’s. Cos in the end this is so not the genre for me….ok will give it a go 😉

    • unfinishedperson

      Actually if you like Grisham, may I recommend Lisa Scottoline especially her earlier books that dealt with a specific law firm (Bennie Rosato & Associates)? I do not recommend her books that go off that track, though, for example, her latest, Look Again, IMHO, is a clunker.

      That’s okay about Connelly. He’s not to everyone’s taste, but I find him one of the best out there, at least with most of his books. Every once in a while, he has a clunker too, but it’s a rarity.

  3. Funny 🙂
    Never read any Connelly, not my genre I guess

  4. Good work on the Blue Train! Very cool 🙂

    I haven’t read Scarlet Pimpernel, but I love Lady In Red.

  5. Quickly escalated, indeed! Love that teaser…it made me chuckle aloud. Thanks for sharing!

    You can check out mine here.

  6. Love your teaser! I’ve got a couple of good teasers this week. Here’s a link.

  7. I loved The Eyre Affair! Hope it is amusing you as well.

    • unfinishedperson

      I’m not going to lie. I’ve been sidetracked by Christie and Connelly, but hope to return to Fforde here soon.

  8. thebluestockingguide

    The teaser is funny!!! Here is mine